Observations from a People Watcher

What’s the deal with the meteoric rise in women wearing stilettos? 

 

red-stiletto-xsmall

I was at the mall this past weekend and it seemed like stilettos were every where. All of the stores had unveiled their shoe line-ups for the spring and darn if stilettos and 4 inch wedge-heels weren’t everywhere. For the record, I don’t have anything against stilettos, except for the fact that they are hard on a woman’s foot. But that doesn’t seem to be stopping women from buying and wearing them.

We were at Piedmont Park here in our fair city of Atlanta, and as I people watched I was shocked by the number of women walking around wearing stilettos and jeans. I just don’t get it. I know we women love to look cute, and I really like that look, by the way, but wouldn’t gym shoes or casual shoes be more comfortable for a long walk in the park? And while we’re on the subject, how about women wearing stilettos at an amusement park? Seriously, what’s the point? You’re on your feet all day; why not wear comfortable shoes? 

I’d love to know your take on this. Is it just me?  

 

Related Posts:

The Difference between Men and Women

What Was I Thinking?

Half-Finished Tattoo

 

  

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

 

14 Responses

  1. I prefer shorter more comfortable heels.

    I asked my husband his opinion. He said he thinks the shorter heels are sexier. Then he told me to buy a couple pair for myself this weekend. Say what??!!

    Guess where I’m heading this weekend ;)

  2. Just looking at those shoes breaks my neck. Give me some cute short heeled sassy boots and I am ready to go!

  3. I personally love the look of jeans with high heels. Especially if the look is paired with a cute, trendy jacket….however, I just draw the line at heels paired with an amusement park. No matter how you dress that up, it just doesn’t scream STYLE!

  4. Oh I know…me too. :-)

  5. My hairdresser wears high heels all the time and she swears that even though she’s on her feet all day, they don’t bother her at all. Now that I find amazing.

  6. You go, girl! Have a great weekend.

  7. I am much too old for this style. Thank God.

  8. Way back when my feet were young enough to wear high heels, I wore 3 inch narrow heels to an outdoor wedding. The first step I took on unpaved ground, my pointy heels sank all the way into the dirt and I almost fell over. I was limited to paved areas after that. If those women in the park are walking on dirt, then they’re walking only on their toes. And that’s hard to do for very long!

  9. I live in heels. All day every day. If I’m out of the house, I’m in heels. Most days, because I’m a college student(not a teeny bopper lol, I’m 27 years old), I’m wearing kitten heels. But that’s only when I’m on campus, any other time I’m in higher heels, usually 3 to 4 inches. To me, it’s comfortable, it’s just what I’m used to. I worked at a company once the frowned on me wearing heels, so I wore ballet flats, and actually ended up hurting my feet more in those. I would come home every day with blisters. I guess every one is just different.
    By the way though, I though I would mention there are a few things that make higher heels easier to wear, like having an ankle strap, not only is it cute, but it offers more support, and close toed shoes cause less slipping and don’t end up hurting your toes :)

  10. Sharon, I used to work with a woman who said her feet hurt less in heels than in flats so I think you’re definitely right about it depending on what a person is used to. A few days ago I was at the store and I saw that there are now shoe inserts to provide support and take the pressure off the ball of the foot. What a great idea. Just curious…are wedge heels more comfortable than the spike-type heels?

  11. Hey there! So I’m curious – where did you find that image of a stiletto?

  12. Hi Chris,
    I got the picture from istockphoto.com. I use that site all the time and they have great royalty-free images. Thanks for visiting today.

    Sharon

  13. I believe that in this case it has nothing to do with comfortable shoes, those at home when nobody sees you. and think just because you look better is worth everything, is a matter of taste, first dead than simple!!!

    go girls in high hills!!!!

  14. I think that heels only hurt if you are unaccustomed to wearing them. When I went from university to my first job, switching from flat to stilettos, my feet ached and bled for the first few weeks. But now, I can walk and run all day in 4-5in stilettos and I barely notice them, but switch to sneakers and I’m in agony :-(

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,255 other followers

