Tattoos in Interesting Places

I know I’m probably going to draw fire for this blog post, but doggone it I can’t keep quiet. As you all know, I love people watching. Give me a park bench on a sunny afternoon, and I’ll be entertained for hours. But here lately, I’ve noticed something that has me perplexed.

The other day, I was standing in line waiting to return an item I had purchased and I couldn’t help but notice the tattoos on the woman standing a few feet away. Most of her tattoo’s were fairly tasteful, but seeing her name tattooed on her arm made me wonder about other women I’ve seen with their names tattooed on their much-too-exposed who-who’s.

Maybe I’m old school, but I just don’t get it. Why would someone need to tattoo their own name on their own who-who’s? Is there so much traffic to that region of their bodies that these women need identification? Is there concern about amnesia and the tattoo is a permanent reminder of their name. What?

I can already hear the shotguns of angry women loading even as I type this post. But I really and truly don’t understand. I also don’t understand the people who have pictures of themselves—not pictures of themselves with other people—but portrait type pictures of themselves that they frame and display at work. I could see two or three small pictures—maybe—but not a collage of various size pictures as a personal shrine. What’s that all about?

All right, I’m stepping off my soapbox. Don’t shoot me, guys. I’ve been holding my tongue and I had to let it out. I um…have a little bit more to let out later so I’ll be um…unloading next week. By golly, I’m on a roll!

What’s your take on all this?

 

 

 

Related Posts:

The Lone Boot

Ready For a New Fashion

The Difference between Men and Women

 

10 Responses

  1. Sharon,

    I know exactly what you mean. I’m with you–I do NOT understand. I blogged about it a few months ago, even garnered some comments, but I still don’t get it. So, Friend, should you happen to get it, pass it along to me…thanks!

  2. Oh, I totally get what you’re saying! Of course, my bigger problem with tattoos is that I just can’t understand why anybody would pay someone to inflict pain on them by stabbing them repeatedly with a needle. Sounds fun, but NO!

    Of the dozens of pics hanging out around my office, I have TWO of me. In one, I’m with my late grandparents. I keep it around to remember them. In the other, I’m standing in Trafalgar Square. I keep it around to remember how cool it was to actually be at Trafalgar Square. But a whole Sarah shrine in my office? Um, NO.

    Thanks for the giggle this morning, Sharon!

  3. LOL Jewel, I’ll defintely pass it along if I find it.

  4. Sarah, the pictures on your desk don’t even come close to a shrine. Not even a little bit. It’s the people with five+ portrait type pictures of themselves that I don’t get. I’m glad to see I’m not the only one. :-)

  5. I don’t get all the tattoos, either. I would like one small rosebud on my wrist, but they say that area heals really slow. So I don’t have one yet.

  6. I’m with you, sweetie. If – and that’s a colossal IF – I ever get a tattoo, it would have to be something infinitely important and personal.

    They say that tattooing is addictive – once you get one, you want another … and another … and another. So, I’m sorta scared to start. (Plus there’s the whole “grandma’s getting a tattoo?” issue. :)

    Great post!

  7. I’m with you–I just don’t get it. I’m all for personal freedom, but skin doesn’t stay elastic forever…and…well…it’ll look silly after a while. {{ducking, in case someone disagrees}}

  8. Hi Sharon –

    The whole tattoo thing strikes me as faddish. What’s cool at 20 will likely be an embarrassment at 50.

    We’ve gone from grafitti on walls and cars to bodies. Why are we hiding the real us behind dubious artwork?

    Last, but not least, I think there’s a scripture that tells us not to do this. (I’d have to do some digging, but I’m 99% certain it’s there.) That alone would be enough to stop me.

    People can do what they want, but that’s my opinion.

    Susan :)

  9. A rosebud sounds so pretty, Linda. If you decide to go for it please be sure to send me a picture so I can ooh and aahh. :-)

  10. Angie, Georgiana, and Susan, have you guys seen the documentary about the man who’s tattoo’d from head to toe–even his ears. Ouch! Can you imagine that?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,255 other followers

