Wednesday Favorites – Christmas Dishes

In case you think I’m talking about plates, glasses, and all that good stuff, let me set the record straight. I’m talking about food—yummy Christmas dishes guaranteed to send you into a food-induced nap. I know I shouldn’t say this, but Christmas desserts are my favorite. I love sweets, and unfortunately they love me too, especially my hips. Turkey is fine, ham is good, but nothing beats homemade cakes and pies. Of course, by “homemade” I mean from a box. It’s been so long since I’ve had a real everything-from-scratch pie that I wonder if I even still have a rolling pin. For you real cooks out there, what cakes and pies do you make from scratch? And by scratch I mean make your own crust etc.?

When you think about the side dishes, what are your favorites? Me…I’m a homemade macaroni and cheese kind of girl. Actually, now that I think of it, stuffing is at the top of my list of favorites, followed by mac and cheese, and then…candied yams. Ooh, I better stop. I’m making myself hungry.

Does anyone have a recipe you’d like to share?

 

 

 

Related Posts:

Wednesday Favorites – Comfort Food

Wednesday Favorites – Quick and Easy Recipes

 

6 Responses

  1. Okay, you WOULD ask for a recipe when I’m not at home where I can get to my recipe box. But I have three words for you, Sharon: Italian Cream Cake. Two more words for you: From Scratch.

    Salivating yet?

    I LIKE to cook. But I LOVE to bake. At Christmas, I typically make several batches of chocolate chip cookies and one batch of “smudge” cookies (that’s chocolate chocolate chip-they leave smudgy stains on your fingers, hence the name). I make lemon bars (my favorite) and at least one Italian Cream Cake from my Grandmother’s recipe.

    The funniest part is that as many sweets as I bake, I don’t have that much of a sweet tooth. I end up giving them all away to friends. (I wish you lived closer!)

    Merry Christmas, Sharon!

  2. Sarah, everything you described sounds sooo delicious! It’s probably a good thing that I don’t live close to you or I’d be even bigger from eating all the goodies you bake. :-)

  3. Sharon,

    I want the picture recipe. It looks delish.

  4. I WANT A PIECE OF THAT CAKE!

    Blessings,
    Susan :)

  5. That picture looks yummy!

    My favorite side dish, hands down, is mashed potatoes!!!! I slather mine with cream cheese and sour cream. Gravy is an insult =P

  6. Ladies, when I found the picture of that chocolate cake I almost started salivating. LOL! Doesn’t that cake look absolutely scrumptious?! Merry Christmas, everyone.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,254 other followers

