Reading List – 50 Interesting Books

 

For the last few years I’ve been on a quest to read more broadly and also rediscover—or in some cases discover—some of the literary classics that have garnered much-deserved praise and awards. Since I know many of you reading this blog are also avid readers, I thought I’d share my reading list in hopes that you will share your list, or a few recommendations, with me. Many of the books below I have read and or listened to on audio, but I still have several titles to checkout from the library. In no particular order, here is my list of 50 interesting books for your reading fancy.

1. The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini

2. Water for Elephants – Sara Gruen

3. To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee

4. The DaVinci Code – Dan Brown

5. The Color Purple – Alice Walker

6. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen

7. The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold

8. White Oleander – Janet Fitch

9. Memoirs of a Geisha – Author Golden

10. Catcher in the Rye – J.D. Salinger

11. Little Women – Louisa May Alcott

12. Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte

13. Life of Pi – Yann Martel

14. Jazz – Toni Morrison

15. Tuesdays with Morrie – Mitch Albom

16. The Alchemist – Paulo Coelho

17. A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens

18. The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald

19. The Hand I Fan With – Tina McElroy Ansa

20. The Time Traveler’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger

21. Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky

22. Love in the Time of Cholera – Gariel Garcia Marquez

23. Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck

24. The Secret Life of Bees – Sue Monk Kidd

25. The World According to Garp – John Irving

26. Catch 22 – Joseph Heller

27. War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy

28. The Poinsonwood Bible – Barbara Kingsolver

29. She’s Come Undone – Wally Lamb

30. The Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck

31. The Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas

32. The Pillars of the Earth – Ken Follett

33. The Red Tent – Anita Diamant

34. A Prayer for Owen Meany – John Irving

35. The Green Mile – Stephen King

36. Outlander – Diana Gabaldon

37. Lady Chatterley’s Lover – D.H. Lawrence

38. The Outsiders – S.E. Hinton

39. A Woman of Substance – Barbara Taylor Bradford

40. Kane and Abel – Jeffrey Archer

41. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn – Betty Smith

42. The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson

43. Tar Baby – Toni Morrison

44. Brave New World – Aldous Huxley

45. Wizard’s First Rule – Terry Goodkind

46. In the Skin of a Lion – Michael Ondaatje

47. The Stone Diaries – Carol Shields

48. Rebecca – Daphen DuMaurier

49. The Celestine Prophecy – James Redfield

50. The Shack – WM. Paul Young

Quick question for you guys. How many of the 50 books on the list have you already read? Are there any books on the list you’d like to read? 

 

 

Related Posts:

Books on the Go

From My Audio Library – A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

From My Audio Library – The Shack by WM. Paul Young

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

 

19 Responses

  1. I’ve read 8.5 of them. LOL–one of them I just. couldn’t. finish. But, the 8 that I read in full I really enjoyed. This list reminds me of some of the classics I should read, also.

  2. Georgiana, I tried reading Moby Dick awhile back and couldn’t, for the life me, get in to it. I’ve decided to stick with the classics that still grab me like To Kill a Mockingbird because it’s like finding a hidden treasure once lost.

  3. Oh, we are reader soulmates FOR SURE.
    Of your list, I have NOT read White Oleander, The Hand I Fan With, Time Traveler’s Wife, Outlander (on my TBR list), Outsiders, Kane & Able, A Woman Wizard’s First Rule, In the Skin of a Lion (but loved his The English Patient), and Celestine Prophecy

    In case you don’t BYTE travel back to my blog, my current raves are What is the What, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, and The Help.
    AMAZING!!!!

  4. I’ve read 30 of them. Of those 30, I loved The Shack, To Kill a Mockingbird, Time Travelers Wife. Stone Diaries, Grapes of Wrath, Tuesday’s With Morrie.
    One book I highly recommend is The Curious Case of the Dead Dog in the Road at Midnight. (Something along those lines). It was written from an autistic man’s pov. What a GREAT job.

  5. Patti, thanks for the recommendations. I’m adding all three books to me reading list. ;-)

  6. Carol, thanks for letting me know about the book. I’ll be sure to add it to my list with a few others. :-)

  7. Hi Sharon –

    I’ve read seven of these books, some of them many years ago. My favorite was, “The Shack.”

    Blessings,
    Susan :)

  8. Susan, I loved, loved, loved The Shack! I know there was a little controversy surrounding the book, but I enjoyed it and found the whole story made me delight in thinking about Jesus.

  9. It was required reading in high school :

    To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
    Catcher in the Rye – J.D. Salinger
    Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte
    The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald
    Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck

    One of these days I’d like to get around to reading the following:
    Catch 22 – Joseph Heller
    War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy
    The Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck
    The Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas
    Brave New World – Aldous Huxley
    A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
    Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky

    One of the best books I’ve ever read was Moby Dick. Just finished Atlas Shrugged which is fantastic.

  10. Oh my goodness, Mary, so many books, so little money–and time. :-) Thank goodness for the library or I’d be in the poorhouse because of my reading passion. It’s so nice to revisit the classics. I just finished To Kill a Mockingbird and so enjoyed it.

  11. Sharon,

    I’ve read 11 of the books listed (13 if you count seeing the movies “The Secret Life of Bees” and “The Secret Garden”). :) My favorites are:

    1. The Color Purple (on my top 10 list of best books ever)
    2. The Poisonwood Bible
    3. The Kite Runner (and also a Thousand Splendid Suns)
    4. Life of Pi

    One you should add to your reading list is “The Story of Edgar Sawtelle” – took me a chapter to really get into it, but then I couldn’t put it down. Good stuff!

  12. Tonia, it looks like you and I have similar taste in books. :-) Your top books are also on my top 10 list. Cool!

  13. U r just great

  14. Thanks, Rizvan!

  15. What an interesting list, thank you so much! I have read probably about half of the titles, they are really good books and I particularly like The Great Gatsby. Like you, I enjoy re-reading old favorites – you always discover something new about them. Ok, as you asked, here are a few books that I would recommend:

    Martha Gellhorn – Travels with myself and another
    Diana Athill – Stet
    Alfred Andersch – Flight to Afar (though I read it in German)
    Marina Lewicka – Strawberry Fields

    They are very different books but worth a go! Enjoy!

  16. Oxforduli,
    Thank you for the list of books you recommend. I’m not familiar with any of them so your comment was a real treat! Have a great weekend.

  17. Here’s one – “The Known World” by Edward P. Jones. Intense, but worth the journey. One of my favorita books ever.

  18. Probably 18 months too late but try these as well:
    ‘Half of a Yellow Sun’ by Chimamanda Adichie
    ‘Kafka by the Shore’ by Haruki Marukami
    ‘The Famished Road’ by Ben Okri
    ‘The God of Small Things’ by Arundathi Roy
    ‘A Fine Balance’ by Rohinton Mistry
    ‘Disgrace’ by J M Coetzee

  19. Im kaif…..u r realy great SHARON…I READ SOME BOOKS IN U R LIST …AWESOME BOOKS…..THANK YOU VERY MUCH….ALLAH BLESS U..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,257 other followers

