Author Patti Lacy Joins Us Today

In 1955, Ann Qualls gave birth to her daughter Patti in the front seat of a Buick. By pure coincidence, Ann claims, their daughter was named Patti Day Qualls, PDQ. This moniker has served Patti well, as she’s moved at least ten times, traveled to forty states, and changed occupations with a liberality unusual in native Texans. However, Patti thinks her latest profession will stick awhile.

The Still, Small Voice encouraged Patti to write after a brave Irish friend shared memories of betrayal and her decision to forgive. In 2008, An Irishwoman’s Tale was published by Kregel Publications. Patti’s second novel, What the Bayou Saw, draws on the memories of two young girls who refused to let segregation, a chain link fence, and a brutal rape come between them. My Name is Sheba, Patti’s third novel, will be published in 2011.

The secrets women keep and why they keep them continue to capture Patti’s imagination. She writes full time, teaches Bible studies and seminars, and attends book signings. Patti and her husband Alan, an Illinois State faculty member, live in Normal. They have two grown children and a dog named Laura.

 

What? No coffee? Oh, well. I’ve had enough already since I got up around three to work on edits.

Yeah, I’m WIRED! It’s such a blessing to be a guest at your blog today!

Patti, I watched the book trailer for What the Bayou Saw and I wondered how difficult it was for you to write about such gritty topics as racism and rape. First, tell us about the story premise and then tell us about your experience with writing the book.

I hope you enjoyed the DVD made by locals “discovered” while standing behind café and perfume counters and sitting on church pews!

Since leaving Louisiana, Sally Stevens has held her childhood secrets at bay, smothering them in a sunny disposition and sugar-coated lies. No one, not even her husband Sam, has heard the truth about what happened to her and her best friend, Ella Ward, when they were twelve years old.

Now a teacher in Normal, Illinois, Sally has nearly forgotten her past. Then Shamika, one of her students, is violently attacked, and memories of segregation, a chain-link fence, and a blood oath bubble to the surface like a dead body in a bayou. Lies continue to tumble from Sally’s lips as she scrambles to gloss over the harsh reality of a betrayal that refuses to stay buried.

Cornered by the Holy Spirit and her own web of lies, Sally and Shamika embark on a quest to find Ella in post-Katrina New Orleans. With the help of friends, family, and God, Sally can glimpse a life free of the mire of deceit and truly begin to live with joy. Will she pay the price for a lifetime of deception? Can she save Shamika?

Sigh. Back to the question. Was the rape scene hard to write? Yes.

I talked to counselors at Rape Crisis centers and a YWCA staff member, then drew on memories from two unfortunate childhood incidents. Research revealed the sad truth that if victims do not turn to someone they trust within the first forty-eight hours following the incident, they likely will bury the hurt deep inside. Even decades later, the ugly secret can uncoil, like a snake, to strike.

I tried to approach the difficult scenes in a professional, detached way. Somehow it was easier to write when I literally positioned myself in the hand movements, the angles, and just wrote. Kinda like dissecting something to see the truth.

If you could go back in time and have a conversation with someone from the past, who would you like to talk to and why?

Probably my father, who passed before I began writing. Our bathroom cabinets—any cabinet, really—were converted into bookshelves for Dad’s Zane Gray and mystery novels. Dad bought our family a set of classics from either a catalogue or a door-to-door salesman when we probably couldn’t afford it. What a wonderful gesture—and investment!

As a reader and reviewer, do you prefer books that make you laugh or cry and who are your favorite authors of such books?

I prefer books that make me cry, though I’m having fun with a debut novel, The Prayers of Agnes Sparrow. Quirky and different. It’ll be interesting to see where Joyce Magnin takes it.

Favorite CBA authors? Francine Rivers, Lisa Samson, Angela Benson, Athol Dickson.

My favorite reads fall on literary fiction and popular trade shelves. However, I occasionally flit over to nonfiction bookstore areas. This year, What is the What, My Sister’s Keeper, The Help, The Lord of Death, Teach Like Your Hair’s On Fire, and Hotel at the Corner of Bitter and Sweet have captivated me. Yep, I devour books!!

When folks ask me how long I’ve been writing, sometimes I say, “Since age five, when I began to read.”

The book trailer for your novel, The Irishwoman’s Tale, sounds fascinating. Where did the story idea come from?

The story of my brave best friend, who was given away by her Irish mother, forms the core of The Irishwoman’s Tale. My heart was gripped by her first memory of being called a “little eejit” and then gussied up in clothes that she later learned were her “sending-off” wardrobe.

If you could add two extra hours in a day, how would you spend the time?

READING, of course!!

What’s in store for you next? What are you working on right now?

Yesterday I inked my John Doe on a contract for my third book, and then faxed it to the publisher. As soon as I receive the signed copies, I’ll share the details.

In the meantime, a brave woman named Kai has invited me to step back to the turbulent days of the Cultural Revolution in China. With God’s help, Kai is reclaiming Lily, a sister adopted by an American pastor and his wife.

God willing, I will visit China in May to conduct research on my fourth book!

Thanks ever so much for having me at your site today, Sharon!

Blessings, Patti

 

 

 

Related Posts:

Author Spotlight on Christina Berry

Meet Debut Author Rhonda McKnight

Come Visit and Get to Know Author Tricia Goyer

20 Responses

  1. I really enjoy your author spotlights, Sharon. Patti Lacy’s name keeps coming up in my eclectic circles. ACFW, of course, but also Amazon’s ABNA community–Scotti Cohn, a friend I met in the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award contest, had a book signing with Patti last year. I think I am meant to read An Irishwoman’s Tale.
    Okay, I’ll get on it! : )

  2. Enjoyed reading this! Glad I stopped by.
    Blessings,
    Karen

  3. Hi Sharon & Patti -

    I was delighted to see Patti’s name and picture when I popped in this morning.

    Your method for writing difficult scenes interested me, Patti. I’ve often come away from my own WIP, feeling completely drained.

    Thanks for an enlightening and entertaining interview. (Loved the PDQ!)

    Blessings,
    Susan :)

  4. Oh exciting! I’m anxious to read Patti’s 3rd book :D

  5. Wow, isn’t this a welcoming place???/!!!

    Kathleen, YES, you are meant to read BOTH of my books! LOL. So you pulsed and swayed with thata great crowd in Mall of America? Wow. God was SO good to wedge me between Julie Lessman and Tosca Lee, who are now writer soulmates!! That’s what ACFW conferences can do!!!

    Karen, you are such a sweetheart. Your name keeps popping up EVERYWHERE, and it’s GOOD!!!

    Susan, do you realize the blurb of writing you critiqued for me, what, over a year ago, is my next release, My Name is Sheba? YOU are the key to my FINALLY getting who and that right (at least half of the time) LOL.

    Blessings, dear one!!!! And thank YOU, Sharon of the Swedish fish!! Y’all look that one up at http://www.pattilacy.com/blog!!!! Think noshing!!!!!

  6. Kathleen, it’s so funny that you should mention the ABNA. I entered the contest for the first time this year and you’re the only person I know who is a part of the community. How cool! Did you enter this year?

  7. Karen,
    Thank you so much for blessing Patti and I by stopping by today. Hope your day is going well.

    Blessings and gratitude,

    Sharon

  8. Honest to goodness, everyone, Patti is like a bright ray of sunshine!!! Oh how I LOVE the sun!

    Georgiana, Susan, and Patti, Wouldn’t it be great if we could all hook up at a conference one of these days? If Kathleen could join us I’d be in friend heaven!!! :-)

  9. Wonderful interview! I really enjoyed learning more about Patti’s second book too. Thanks for sharing!

  10. Loved Patti’s What the Bayou Saw. A memorable book. Looking forward to My Name Is Sheba. Any hints as to what this one is about, Patti?

    Good interview, Sharon.

  11. Jessica, thanks! I hope you sprint to the library and/or store and grab Bayou off the shelves!

    Patricia, I am so blessed to be “connecting” through our sites!!!

    Okay. If you MUST drag it outta me (I am working on a titling and cover questionnaire today so the “working” back cover copy is on the tip of my “fingers”):

    Sheila Franklin has lived three separate lives using three different names. Now a conservative pastor’s wife, she is skilled at hiding secrets birthed in a New Orleans brothel. When the son she gave up years ago comes knocking, her heart roarsback to life, and the secrets she’s locked away threaten to explode. Torn between preserving her marriage and again losing her son, Sheila faces an impossible decision. Will she give in to the legalistic demands of her husband and his congregation? Or will she reclaim what she has lost and rediscover herself in the process?

  12. Patti, your next novel, My Name is Sheba, sounds soooo good. Oh man I can’t wait to read it! Thank you so much for being a guest on my blog today. Your warmth drew us all in and made everyone feel so welcome. What the Bayou Saw is on my reading list and I can’t wait to crack it open. Thank you for hanging out here and spending the day with all of us. Blessing, dear one.

  13. Patricia and Jessica, thank you both for stopping by today. I hope you won’t be strangers and will come again soon. Blessing to you both.

  14. Awesome interview and I enjoyed getting to know Patti a little better! Thank you.

    -FringeGirl

  15. This is awesome, Patti! I can’t wait to read your books!

    Sharon, it’s great to meet you!

  16. Sigh. How soon you forget me, dear Sharon, and put up another writer! LOL.

    Thanks ever so much for showing me great hospitality! Cannot wait to meet you in person, soulmate! Maybe ACFW in Indianapolis???!!!!

    Could we gab over coffee? But I do not know about those fish…. LOL

    Patti

  17. Kristen and FringeGirl, I’m so glad you enjoyed the interview. It’s wonderful to meet you both and I thank you so much for stopping by.

  18. LOL Patti, no one could EVER forget you, especially not me, your soulmate. :-) I’m still thinking about Indy so that might be our chance to have a real live gab fest (minus Swedish Fish, of course).

  19. Sharon, if YOU come to Indy (Lord willing for both of us), not only will I try a Swedish fish, I will give some out at the book signing!!!

    Thanks again for everything!
    Patti

  20. Okay, Patti, I’m going to hold you to this–yeeeeeha Swedish fish at your book signing!!! :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,252 other followers

