A Grandmother’s Special Love

This has been a difficult week for my family as we have said goodbye to my grandmother who we all will miss. The homegoing celebration was yesterday, July 14, 2010, and my grandmother was 83 years old. During the memorial service, as friends and family talked about how she touched their lives, I was amazed at all of the new things I learned about her. For example, I never knew until yesterday that my grandmother graduated from Florida A&M University with a degree in Home Economics in 1951. I had always known that she was very active in her church and community, but I didn’t know the extent of her far-reaching involvement until yesterday.

As a powerful woman of God, my grandmother lived her life in a way that truly reflected God’s love and provided a living example of how to be in the world, but not of the world. She was the kind of person who never, and I mean never, gossiped about other folks in any way, shape, or form, and she was not a hypocrite. She had faith, but she also had works that went along with her faith, and she helped all of God’s children to the best of her ability. She was an amazing mother and grandmother, full of wisdom, guidance, love and patience that touched and changed lives. I know she is with Jesus, and I can’t wait to see her again when our Lord returns.

I’ll leave you with these few words…love your family and show your love while there is still life left in your body. No day is promised, so love fully, completely, and with reckless abandon, for in doing this we please our Heavenly Father. Blessings to all of you for visiting my blog today.

Related Posts:

Grandparents are Special

Wednesday Favorites – Keepsakes

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

14 Responses

  1. My love to you and yours, Sharon.

  2. Sharon, Prayers go to you in your loss. Your grandma sounded lovely.

    I fully understand what you mean about loving our family and friends today, while still alive. I learned it first when my grandpa died in 1978. Recently a rip tide nearly drowned four members of my family. They all survived. The oldest was 52, the youngest 14. We’re not promised to live 100 years, so we need to show our love while we have life.

  3. Praying for you and your family, Sharon. It sounds like your grandmother was a wonderful woman. It’s easy to see where you get your intelligence and temperament. She must have been so proud of you.

  4. Angie, thank you so much for encouraging me and lifting me up. You blessed me with your kind words.

  5. Kit and Carol, thank you so very much for your prayers for me and my family. Your words are like a balm to my heart. Bless you…

  6. Sharon,
    I was very blessed to have known your grandmother for the very short time I did. Your family is the finest legacy she has. My heart goes out to you and your family. At this special time I recall the 23rd Psalm. I know that prayer will comfort you. God be with you.
    Mary

  7. Oh, my heart ACHES for you. I will carry your pain with me today.

    My God give you a peace that passeth all understanding and offer glimpses of our REAL and ETERNAL HOME!!!

    Patti

  8. I am sorry for your loss, it was very hard on me when my grandmother died. Sending you some cyber hugs.

  9. Mary, thank you so very much. I will miss MG, but I know I’ll see her again and that brings me such peace.

  10. Patti and Lori, thank you both for sending me your loving thoughts. My grandmother’s death would be so much harder if I knew she didn’t know Jesus. I’m so thankful that I’ll see her again when we’re all at home in heaven.

  11. Hi Sharon –

    I’m sorry to hear about your grandma. May the Lord comfort you and your family.

    Your last paragraph struck a chord in my heart. We become so aware of how fleeting life is when we lose someone we love. I once saw a quote, “Life is fragile. Handle with prayer.”

    Blessings,
    Susan

  12. Susan, that quote is so very true. Thank you for encouraging me by sharing it.

  13. Sharon, I’m a little late reading this post–we’ve just moved, need I say more?

    I’m so sorry about your grandmother. She sounds like she was a wonderful person!

  14. Mary, thank you so much. My grandmother truly was an amazing woman. I miss her, but I know I’ll see her again and that give me peace.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,255 other followers

