Audiobook – The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd

Prior to listening to the audiobook by Sue Monk Kidd I had heard great things about the novel, The Secret Life of Bees. Even with all of the rave reviews I wasn’t prepared for the story to move me the way that it did. The narrator of the audiobook, Jenna Lamia, did a fabulous job. In her voice, the main character of the story, Lily Owens, came to life. I can only imagine how different my story experience would have been if the book were narrated by someone who did not do a fabulous job of making the characters live in my imagination.

The book is told through the troubled eyes of fourteen-year-old Lily Owens, who believes she is responsible for her mother’s death. Abused by her father, and missing the mother she loved, Lily is mostly cared for by a servant, Rosaleen, a black woman who becomes Lily’s stand-in mother.

When Rosaleen has a confrontation with three racist men and she is beaten, thrown in jail, and awaiting punishment that will certainly mean death. Lily helps Rosaleen escape from the guarded hospital and the two women head to Tiburon South Carolina, the place where Lily is drawn because of a label from a honey jar her mother left behind.

In Tiburon, Lily and Rosaleen are befriended by three African American sisters, August, June, and May, and Lily learns that her mother was loved by these three women and lived with them for a period of time before getting married. The oldest sister, August, is a beekeeper who runs her honey-making business out of the home the three sisters share. Through the strength and love of August and the sisters, Lily’s spirit is renewed as she heals and learns to let go of the guilt and anger she has carried in her heart.

If you haven’t read this book or listened to the audio version, I would really encourage you to check it out at the library and enjoy a great story.

 

 

Related Posts:

From My Audio Library – A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

An Audio Book I Recommend – Life of Pi by Yann Martel

Books on the Go

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

 

10 Responses

  1. LOVED, LOVED this book but should reread b/c sadly, my mind does not contain all the plots swirling about.

    Just finished another new soulmate book, Little Bee.

    VERY little in common with YOUR book, but still fabulous….

    Twin, will we EVER get caught up on our reading?
    Twin, are you coming to ACFW Indy?

  2. Sharon, I agree. I loved reading this book, mostly because it has all the themes that touch my heart: pain and healing, sin and redemption, mourning and rejoicing.

    This book is on my list of novels to read again and again. Maybe I can check out the audio version someday!

  3. Patti, my sweet Twin, I wish I was able to make the ACFW conference in Indy this year. Last year was fabulous so I know this year will be just as great. If you’re going, please be sure to take lots of pictures so I can live vicariously through you. :-)

  4. Angie, this book is on my read list as well. I love books that you can enjoy like that.

  5. Sharon, thanks for this breakdown. I’ve always heard that I need to read this, and now I know why. Will do.

  6. Sharon, thanks for letting us know that The Secret Life of Bees is now in audio-book format!

  7. Kathleen, the story is so powerful that it stays with you long after you’ve finished the novel. Now that’s what I call great writing!

  8. Mary, I don’t know about you, but I love the library. When I checked out this audiobook it came as it’s own little MP3 player. All I needed was a pair of earbuds. How cool is that?

  9. Hi Sharon –

    I’ve heard so much about this book, but my TBR pile continues to grow. I never thought of an audio book. I’ll have to check the library one of these days and see if they have it.

    Blessings,
    Susan :)

  10. Susan, I know what you mean about the TBR pile. Mine is gigantic! Audiobooks from the library allows me to at least enjoy some of the books on my list. Love the library!!! :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,256 other followers

