An Example of Great Customer Service

So often bad news and bad reports spread faster than a brush fire in the California woods, but what about the good stuff—when someone or some company gets things right? I recently had two experiences, with two different companies, and received such great customer service that I felt compelled to “sing their praises.”

My web address, www.sharonball.com, is registered with Godaddy.com. Last week, I called GoDaddy to get their help with setting up Mobile Me email on my iPhone. By the time I called GoDaddy I was pretty frustrated and confused and, to be honest, I’m not even sure I was speaking in complete sentences when I called support. Not only was the person I had the good fortune of speaking to, very helpful in helping to solve my problem, he was also delightfully friendly and patient. What a refreshing surprise!

Seems like most companies talk about providing excellent customer service, but it has been my experience that only a few actually walk the talk, which leads me to my second experience calling customer support. Several days ago, I had downloaded a song on iTunes and inadvertently downloaded the wrong version of the song. As soon as I realized my mistake, I emailed Apple to ask if it might be possible to do a switch. Within a few days I received the following email (I deleted the personal information).

“Dear Sharon,

Thank you for contacting iTunes Store Support. My name is Amy, and I will be your iTunes Support Advisor today. I look forward to assisting you with a positive resolution. I understand that you accidentally purchased the wrong version of “LaLaLa”, and you would like to re purchase the version with Singer One and Two. Being a big Singer One fan, I can certainly see why you would want this song!

The order is still processing which means I cannot refund it yet, however, I will give you two song credits so you can go ahead and purchase the song now.

I have issued two song credits to your “XXXXXX” iTunes Store account. You can use these to buy the individual songs of your choice from the iTunes Store.

When you next sign in with this account, the song credits will appear by your account name (in the upper-right section of the iTunes Store). The next individual song you buy from the iTunes Store will use one of your song credits instead of your primary form of payment (until all credits have been used or have expired). Please note that song credits cannot be used for purchasing songs that are listed as “Album Only.”

If you don’t see your credits, Sharon, refresh your account information by signing out and back in to the iTunes Store. You can find both “Sign Out” and “Sign In” within the pull-down “Store” menu. If you don’t see this menu, you need only download the latest version of iTunes from our website for free:

http://www.apple.com/itunes/download/.

Sharon, enjoy your song! If you have any further questions, please don’t hesitate to reply. Until then, have a great day, and thank you for being the best part of iTunes! Take Care =)

Sincerely,

  

Amy (Charlotte, NC) , Apple Advisor

Saturday - Wednesday 11am – 6:30pm EST

http://www.apple.com/support/itunes/ww

Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to assist you. You may receive an AppleCare survey email; any feedback you provide would be greatly appreciated to help myself and Apple to continue to give a positive customer experience!”

Isn’t this email an excellent example of great customer service? Because of this experience, I will tell anyone who asks that Apple and GoDaddy customer service are amazing!

 

Related Posts:

New iPad User

Fun Being Liked

GoToAssist Express

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

 

4 Responses

  1. That’s great to see. With budget cuts and companies stretched thin, it seems so many times people do the bare minimum to get by. I love getting great service, and I think it’s especially important nowadays when people are spending less money. It’s the only way to keep them coming back.

  2. I love your accentuating the positive, Sharon.
    We don’t hear enough of THIS type of story.
    Blessings, twin.
    P

  3. Georgiana, you’re so right. Companies should never take their customers for granted.

  4. Patti, it only seems fair to share good reports and news that lifts our spirits. Have a great weekend, my sweet twin.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,257 other followers

