Some Things You Ought Not Wear

ought-not-wear-xsmall4

 

I have a love hate relationship with spandex. While I love the material for its softness and stretchiness, which is great for working out, I find the tightness extremely revealing. A few weeks ago I was in the store and a woman walked by wearing tight leggings (evil cousin of spandex) and darn if her backside didn’t look like the rolling hills of Tennessee. If I’m lyin’ I’m dyin’ (I’m holding my hand up in a solemn oath). I know this isn’t the nicest thing in the world to say, but for crying out loud…my eyes where offended! You probably can’t tell by the stamp-size picture of me, but I’m not a tiny person. Not even close. So when I say understand how hard it is to win the battle of the bulge, I really do understand. What I want to know is this – where are the friends of the people jiggling around in clothes that were made for women size 0, 2, or 4? I find it hard to believe that the woman I saw in the store received a friend endorsement on the outfit she had on.

 

Let me break it down as kindly as I can. If you wear a double-digit size that begins with the number 2 or 3, spandex isn’t for you. Nor is its evil cousin, Mr. Leggings. Also, add to the list all tight knit fabrics that mold to your body. I know, I know, it’s painful to miss out on buying all of the cute outfits for smaller women, but that’s just how it is. But the smaller women aren’t completely off the hook either. I’d say anyone over a size twelve is seriously pushing it if you’re wearing spandex without a loose fitting t-shirt covering your rump. It’s possible…I’ll give you that. But my advice is to get a reliable friend or husband endorsement. I said RELIABLE. Someone who wears the exact same clothes as you I’m guessing will see no problem with your tight-fitting ensembles. 

 

I know it’s hard to swallow the reality pill. Heck, I’ve choked on it myself lots of times. But some things you ought not wear. I’m just sayin’…

Related Posts:

Observations from a People-Watcher

Half-Finished Tattoo

What Was I Thinking?

The Difference between Men and Women

8 Responses

  1. Here, here! (Also coming from someone who has fought the battle. OK, still is fighting the battle.)

  2. Georgiana – Thanks for leaving a comment. We’re all in battle together.

  3. I don;t see what the concern is. I love Spandex and think it is ALWAYS perfect for ANY occasion.

    Signed:
    Fergus ‘Feet O Flames’

    I’ll be touring again soon, but until then I wear spandex everywhere…especially to the Grocery Store!!!! my favorite

  4. I have to admit, Spandex is soooo comfy. I jest in the blog but really it’s a matter of being comfortable in your own skin which means wearing the clothes that make you feel good. Thanks for leaving a comment.

  5. Love your description of the “rolling hills of Tennessee,” Sharon! Your post made me smile.

  6. I saw the very same thing last night at a department store (let’s just call it Wally World). Anyway, there she was, at least a size 22, with Mr. Leggins AND his best girl, Miss Clingy Sweater.

    It was not pretty.

  7. I’m so glad the post put a smile on your face. Thank you so much for visiting my blg and posting a comment.

  8. Oh my goodness, I forgot all about Mr. Clingy Sweater. LOL Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog and posting a comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

