Tourist in Berchtesgaden Germany

Berchtesgaden is a beautiful place located in southern Bavaria near the border of Austria. Because of the scenic Bavarian Alps and charming countryside, my family vacationed there several times when I was growing up. 

 As a family, we always had a great time traveling together, but there was one trip to Berchtesgaden that I’ll never forget. The mountains were covered with snow, the air was crisp and clean, and we had decided to head into town do a little shopping – which is still high on my list of things to do. On this particular trip, there were four of us: my father, my mother, me, and one of my best friends in high school.  We were roaming the streets together, going in and out of the shops, when my parents ran into friends of theirs that I had never met. As the friends of my parents spilled out of one of the shops, they bumped into my father who had spotted them first. One of the women had an ice cream cone with vanilla ice cream covered in a dark chocolate shell. When she licked it, a splotch of dark chocolate, the size of a quarter, slid onto her face. She had no idea it was there and she kept on talking to my father, completely oblivious to the brown goop on her fair skin. 

I glanced at my father and I could see the wheels turning. His eyes were fixated on the brown goop. He wanted to say something, but she was so into her story that he didn’t want to interrupt her. So I watched him, and tapped my friend on the arm so that she could watch him too. First my father swiped at his chin and brought his hand back down. The lady kept talking, gesturing wide with the cone in her hand waving in circles, moving back and forth. My father cleared his throat and this time he rubbed his chin, but the lady kept right on talking. His stare bounced from her face to the cone, face to the cone, face to the cone. She kept on talking. He tried a different approach and vigorously rubbed his face, jutting his chin out toward her as if willing her to rub her face too. She kept right on talking. 

Finally, he blurts out, “You have chocolate all over your face!” The woman was mid-sentence and she seemed stunned as to what to do. My dad holds his hand up close to her face, but not touching it, and moves his hand in a circular motion, looping it around her chin. “It’s all over your face!” he said. 

Needless to say, I cracked up. I couldn’t help it. My mom shot me the evil eye, but I couldn’t stop. I was a kid and it was hilarious!

 

 

 

 

2 Responses

  1. I am SOOO impressed! Way to go girl! I’ll be checking back often.

  2. Thank you! Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

