Half-Finished Tattoo

I was at the store the other day, and struck up a conversation with a guy standing next to me when I noticed his tattoo. It wasn’t the design that stood out, but the fact that half of the tattoo, actually less than half, was filled in with color and half of it was not. Now, I could understand if the tattoo was big and intricate, requiring multiple sessions to complete it, but this guy’s tattoo wasn’t like that. “That’s an interesting tattoo,” I said.

 

He looked down at it. “Oh yeah, you like it?”

 

“It’s interesting,” I said. (Beware – I’ve learned the hard way that the word interesting isn’t always a compliment)

 

“Yeah, as soon as I get paid I’m gonna get the rest of it done,” he said.

 

I squinted and looked at him. “So now you have to walk around with a half-finished tattoo?” All the while I kept thinking, why on earth would you get a tattoo knowing that you don’t have enough money to finish it? And how exactly would that work? Would the guy give the artist a few bucks and the instruction to stop when he reached the spending limit? Would the tattoo artist give the guy a warning like, “All right, Buddy, you’ve got $.25 left before you run out of money?” After the warning, would the artist put his head back down and keep working…tap, tap, tap, on the guy’s tattoo and simply stop when the time was up? Hum…

 

Needless to say, I was baffled and staring at this guy. Darn if he wasn’t staring right back at me, his head cocked to the side, like I had spoken some kind of gibberish known only to half-witted idiots.    dog-not-understanding-xsmall2 Huh?

 

 

 

Now, you guys tell me. Does that make any sense to you?

 

Related Posts:

Observations from a People-Watcher

Some Things You Ought Not Wear

The Difference between Men and Women

 

 

 

 

 

6 Responses

  1. Yeah, it does. There are lots of tattoos that are not finished, maybe an outline, partial fill, and they go back. Its like a full arm or whatever, done instages

  2. Oh please…I want that doggie in the window. He is soooo cute. Was hoping he was the guy with the tattoo! If he was a dog, that would make more sense. ha!

  3. Susan99e, very good point.

  4. I would have loved to watch the exchange of squints and stares.

  5. Sharon:
    I know that you have heard of Layaway. This was just another form of it. I think we will hear more of “these types” of postponed payments in the future.

  6. You know, I think you’re right. Funds are tight and getting tighter.

Leave a Reply

