What Was I Thinking?

I’m usually a fairly thoughtful person by nature, but every now and then I’ll catch myself saying something so careless that it gets me in trouble. See if you can relate to this one. My husband and I were having lunch one weekend and I decided to be adventurous and order something I had never tried before. When the food arrived, I took a bite and honest to goodness the sandwich tasted like regurgitated spoiled milk. Not that I know what regurgitated spoiled milk tastes like, but you get the point – it was disgusting. It seemed like such a waste to toss the whole meal so I took one more bite just to make sure that the first nasty bite wasn’t a fluke. Nope, no fluke – it was bona fide inedible. So, being the good wife that I am, what did I do? I spit the food out and said to my husband, “Yuck…”  

woman-disgusted-with-food-xsmall

 


I gulped down water. “This is rancid. You want it?”

Needless to say I apologized, but he still teases me every now and again.

Oh Nellie! Why did I go and say that? As soon as I saw the change in his expression, I wanted to recant. Effectively, what my gesture said was, “This food is too disgusting for my selective pallet, but for your undistinguished taste buds it would be perfectly delightful.” He stopped eating and gave me the look (you know the look). “I can’t believe you just did that,” he said.

 

 

 

Related Posts:

Half-Finished Tattoo

Observations from a People-Watcher

Some Things You Ought Not Wear

The Difference between Men and Women

12 Responses

  1. Pretty funny. Although it sounds like something I would do, because my hubby tends to clean up my plate when I’m done. (and if I don’t watch him closely, he’ll take a few bites before I’m done).

  2. I can see his face now. LOL Yeah you would have spoiled my appetite.

  3. LOL. Can truly relate–my sweet hubby has been know to call me a “food snoot.” Have to try really hard not to make “that face” if he suggests eating somewhere that . . . well, makes my face try to do that. 😉

  4. That’s too funny. I think I would have said the same thing. We speak before we think. LOL

  5. That sounds like a women

  6. Question, did you make him pay for dinner too?

  7. LOL…I sure did. 🙂

  8. I love it-poor Erbie! That is so funny. I think it’s totally a wife thing to do:)

  9. that’s like saying, “eugh, this smells so bad! here, smell!” it’s a knee-jerk reaction- maybe because we want to share the intense displeasure with someone so we’re assured that we’re not the only one in discomfort!

  10. Ha!!! You know, Ashley, I think you’re right. For some reason we like to have other people share in the discomfort. In my case it was my poor hubby. LOL.

  11. I admire your adventurous attitude regarding new foods. I, on the other hand, do not have that problem. If I don’t know what it is I ain’t risking it.
    When I worked in downtown DC the company I worked at had a cafeteria. The cooks were Turkish. I regularly ate moussaka. For me that was daring. I didn’t know what it was but it was really good. Even when I found out it was eggplant I didn’t freak out.
    Ernest is definitely a candidate for sainthood.

  12. Mary, I’ve never tried moussaka before, but now that you’ve given it the thumbs up I’ll have to at least taste it.

Leave a Reply

