The Difference between Men and Women

Last Friday my husband and I went to a hockey game at Philips Arena here in Atlanta. It’s been a long time since we’ve been to a hockey game, and we had a great time watching the ATL Thrashers play the Detroit Red Wings. Since my husband and I are from Michigan, we really went to the game to watch our favorite hockey team. And to be honest, I’m still unclear on what a Thrasher actually is. I was shocked though, totally surprised, by the number of fans wearing red and white Red Wing jerseys rather than the Thrasher’s blue and gold.

 

As we walked to the arena I kept telling my husband how much I wished I had a jersey and could’ve sworn that I did have one at some point with Shanahan’s name on the back. We went inside, found our seats, and I mentioned again that a jersey with Shanahan’s name on it would be so cool. Right before the start of the game, my husband turned to me and said, “You know he’s not on the team anymore right?”

 

“Really? When did that happen?” I said.

 

“Awhile ago.” He gave me a look that said, “You’re so adorable when you’re clueless,” and he turned to watch he puck drop.

 

For the record, it’s not that I keep up with hockey because obviously I don’t. But I find it amazing that my husband knows pretty much what’s going on in every sport. Every doggone sport – no joke. We were watching the Golf Channel and this young golfer was analyzing the green from the most bizarre crouching position I’ve ever seen. “Man, that kid is limber,” I said.

 

“They call him the Spiderman,” my husband said.

 

Now granted, my husband actually watches the Golf Channel, whereas I only peek at it every now and then, but still, this kid was new on the scene, as were a handful of other young golf virtuosos, and my husband was already tracking him.

 

So…after the hockey game we made great time getting home, but it was 11:00 p.m. and I was ready to call it a night. “You coming to bed?” I said.

 

“No, I’m going to watch SportsCenter,” he said.

 

I shrugged. One of those exasperated, “give me strength,” kind of shrugs.

 

“See, here’s the difference between men and women,” he said.  “Even though we were just at the game, I still want to see what they say about it on SportsCenter.”

 

“Yep…you’re right. We really are different,” I said.

 

But between you and me (wink), I really do get it. He likes the analyzation of the details after the fact, which makes sense to me. Lord knows, he’s not going to get that level of sports conversation out of me. Mercy! Just shoot me now if I have to even try.

Related Posts:

Some Things You Ought Not Wear

What Was I Thinking?

Half-Finished Tattoo

Observations from a People-Watcher

A Singing Voice Only God Could Love – Part One

A Singing Voice Only God Could Love – Part Two

8 Responses

  1. Ok I laughed through this whole post, sounds like your husband mine would get a long wonderfully. And you and I could sit in the corner clueless, ha. I love it!

  2. My husband is the same way about boats and boat engines (his latest obsession) . I just smile and nod when he tries to explain things & he usually gives up and goes online in search of men who speak his language !

  3. Oh, my dear, you’re a woman after my own heart. 🙂

  4. LOL…It is another language isn’t it? My hubby is also a biker and no matter how much I try, I just can’t get in to talking about engines, and pipes etc. 🙂

  5. As you know, my hubby is the same way…he has got to know the latest on every single sport. And heaven forbid I try to have a conversation during those important moments in sports e.g. super bowl, final four, etc.

    And honey, I know the “you’re cute but clueless” look. I guess it just goes with the territory.

  6. Ahhhh…we are kindred spirits indeed. 🙂

  7. Your story reminds me of when I was a teenager in Philly and the Flyers won the Stanley Cup. The team was known as the Broad Street Bullies. I vividly remember one game where one of the Flyers, Dave Schultz, bashed in an opponent’s face. Those were the days.

  8. Ice skating isn’t for the weak or the timid, that’s for sure. Can you imagine getting your face bashed in? No thanks, I’ll stick to writing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

