Go Ahead and Look Already

If you’ve read any of my previous blog posts about my quirky life-observations, you’ll know that I love people-watching. It’s a good thing that I’m a writer because much of what I see I use to sketch characters. One of my favorite things to observe as we move into summer, are the number of men who try to causally check out women without getting busted. Heck, some of them don’t care who’s watching, but it’s funny anyway.  

I was at the mall doing a little shopping and stopped at the food court to grab a bite to eat. As I stood in line at Chick-fil-A, I noticed a man subtly trying to check out a young woman in the line next to him, but a few people ahead. I saw the moment the young woman caught his eye. When she moved, and someone blocked his line-of-sight, he leaned forward so that he could still get a glimpse of her. If she moved her head in his direction he quickly turned away or looked down at his shoes. If she advanced in the line, he’d scrootch as close to the person ahead of him as he could. At one point, the man teetered forward, and bonked his noggin on the back of the kid in front of him. “Oh, uh, sorry,” he said, and glanced over to see if the young woman saw the commotion. She didn’t. And you know why she didn’t? Because the man had to be at least 55 years old and the young woman couldn’t have been more than 25. Let’s face it. That man had a better chance of winning the lottery than having that pretty young girl notice him. To her, he was invisible. It’s not like the guy was bad looking either. Back in the day, I bet he could have turned a few heads. Back in the day 

I didn’t want to be unkind, but I wanted so much to tell him, “Go ahead and get a good look.”  Standing in line next to that pretty young woman was the closest legal way that he’d be able to be near her.  

Okay it’s your turn – time to play reporter. What kind of funny things have you witnessed while people-watching?

Related Posts:

The Most Unusual Hairstyle

2 Responses

  1. I love watching people with their kids. At the roller rink where my daughter skates, there are always a bunch of dad doing the “Hokey Pokey” on skates with their little ones. If you had told them 10 years ago when they were in high school & so worried about their IMAGE and looking COOL that they would, one day, willing look like an idiot and fall on their butts in front of a group of TOTAL STRANGERS just to make their little ones laugh (& NOT want to crawl into a hole and die) they never would have believed you. Funny how much we change !

  2. LOL!!! Sooo true. The things we do for the people we love….

Leave a Reply

