The Most Unusual Hairstyle

A few weekends ago, my husband and I were out and about running errands when we stopped for a quick bite to eat at Subway.  While we talked and enjoyed each other’s company, I noticed his gaze shift from looking at me to looking at something behind me.  “That’s different,” he said. 

I was about to steal a glance over my shoulder when he stopped me. “Don’t turn around. You’ll see what I’m talking about in a second.” 

I put my sandwich down, scanned my peripheral vision, and waited to see what had distracted my husband so powerfully.  

Then I saw her. Good jiminy cricket!  A woman strolled by with her hair sticking up in spikes all over her dadgum head. Even as I type this post I can hardly describe it. Imagine someone with shoulder-length hair like mine, taking one-inch sections, strengthening them into spikes, and then hair spraying the spikes so that they don’t move. Actually, I don’t think hairspray would have held it. She would almost have needed shellac or some kind of hair glue to make the spikes stay straight. I guess someone must have considered the possibility that a poke in the eye from one of the spikes could put an eye out, because the tips of each spike were curled into little O’s.  

I could tell by the fresh shiny look of her hair and her, “I’m too beautiful for words sashaying walk,” that this woman had just come from the hair salon. Why on God’s green earth would someone pay to have their hair done like that? Did the lady bring in a picture of a porcupine, show it to the hairstylist, and proudly proclaim, “I think this would look great on me.” porcupine-xsmall4

All sorts of questions popped into my mind as I watched her pass. Most of all, I wondered how she’d sleep at night. I still can’t envision how lying down would be possible. What would make someone sacrifice precious sleep for porcupine hair? I just don’t get it.   

What’s the most unusual hairstyle you’ve ever seen?

 

Related Posts:

Go Ahead and Look Already 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Responses

  1. Makes me think she does not like people invading her personal space (“back off” body language-or should I say hair language).

    Despite my objections that were heard and duly noted, my husband (who is barely alive today, 😉 ) took my youngest 10 yr old and allowed him to get a Mohawk for football. My son walked in and I began crying. He has since grown it out, and it did not look THAT bad (shh don’t tell I said that). But what a shock especially for my “baby.”

  2. The shock must have been overwhelming. A mohawk on your “baby”! I can just imagine your face when you saw your son’s hair.

  3. I will use Good Jiminy Cricket before I croak. I promise, but it must be the perfect moment. 🙂

  4. Living in the Los Angeles area for over 30 years, I’d seen some pretty weird dos. That doesn’t even begin to qualify! lol

  5. Oh boy! I don’t think I’ve seen one that unusual, but I’ll bet someone would think twice before trying to snatch her purse.

  6. I know I would certainly think twice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

