Wednesday Favorites – Contest Begins Today

I don’t know about you, but some of the best “keeper” products and new tools that I’ve learned about came from people who shared their experience with using them. Word of mouth is a powerful force. I’m someone who enjoys listening to the advice and insight from others, and I use their feedback to guide me in making the wisest decisions possible when I select goods or services. I would be surprised if I were alone in this boat, and so…I’ve decided to make Wednesdays the official (my official anyway) “Favorites Day.”

 

Each Wednesday, I hope you’ll swing by my blog to post your favorite or favs as I like to call them, in the categories that will be opened for discussion. Here is today’s discussion topic: What is your favorite nonfiction book(s).

 

I’ll get the ball rolling with my list.

 

 Let me hear from you guys. Share your favorites. You never know who you could be helping.

 

Now for the contest…drum roll please…Leave a comment with your fav nonfiction book(s), and on April 22, 2009 I will draw one name, and announce the winner.  The winner will receive their choice of one of the following: The book The Shack by William P. Young or The First Five Pages by Noah Lukeman.

 

So there you have it. Tell us your favs.

 

Related Posts:

More How-To’s For Writing A Good Resume

Your Job Search Is No Laughing Matter

11 Responses

  1. Hi Sharon,
    One of my favorite non-fiction books would be Joyce Meyer’s In Pursuit of Peace. God has used that writing to quiet anxious thoughts and bring me back to His peace that passes understanding.
    Vicki

  2. I loved Joel Osteen’s book, Your Best Life Now. I also liked Kimora Lee Simmons’ Fabulosity, and Russell Simmons’ Do You! Now that I’m thinking about it, I also enjoyed The Four Agreements by Miguel Ruiz, and anything by Deepak Chopra. Rick Warren’s, The Purpose Driven Life was a very good read, as was The Prayer of Jabez by Bruce Wilkinson.

  3. Hi, Vicki, I haven’t read that book by Joyce Meyer by it sounds like a book that would really bless me and that I’d enjoy. Right now I’m reading a daily devotional by Joni Eareckson Tada called Pearls of Great Price, and it’s like spiritual nourishment to my soul. My mom gave it to me for Christmas and she said the Holy Spirit whispered to her that it was the book He wanted me to have. How cool is that?!

  4. Oh, Dwan, you listed some great books here. I think I’m one of the few people on this planet who has not read Joel Osteen’s book, but I love his podcasts, and I try to watch his programs on TV when I can. Since you enjoyed Prayer of Jabez by Bruce Wilkinson, you might want to read his follow up book titled Secrets of the Vine. It’s a small book, but it has some very powerful insight.

  5. I Love Nelson Mandela’s Long Walk to Freedom, but my all time favorite is Experiencing the Depths of Jesus Christ by Jeanne Guyon (it’s a classic).

  6. Favorite? I have SO many! I’m a bookaholic! But some that I truly love are Small, Strong Congregations by Kennon L. Callahan; any of the Tightwad Gazette books by Amy Dacyczyn; and 1,1818 Ways to Write Better & Get Published, which is really just ones I’ve been digging into lately. I have a LOT of books that I skim and would hate to be without. Couldn’t even begin to name them.

  7. Hi, Sharon! Favorite non-fiction books … that’s a hard question because there are soooo many. I guess I’d say Beth Moore’s Praying God’s Word is my favorite. I just got two new writing books that I’m excited about reading: Finding Your Voice and Hooked: Write Fiction that Grabs Readers on Page One & Never Lets Them Go — Mary

  8. Isn’t it amazing how much books can effect our spiritual walk with the Lord? What a blessing to be able to write a book that helps millions of people, and changes their lives for the better. Thank you, Carolyn for sharing your favorites.

  9. Dee, I know exactly what you mean. I’m a bookaholic too. 🙂 The first time I heard of the Tightwad Gazette was from watching Oprah. The book and Amy’s story sounded fascinating, but for some reason I never have gotten around to reading the book. Your comment has rekindled my interest. Thank you.

  10. Hi, Mary. I haven’t heard of either of the writing books you listed, but both of them sound really good. You’ll have to let me know how you liked them after you’ve had a chance to digest the information. Especially Hooked. That sounds like one I could use right about now. 🙂

  11. Sharon, if you’re into saving money, Amy’s books are the best. I’m actually writing my own book on the same topic right now, though I know it will never compete with hers. But I learned so much from her books and you can usually get them at a good price at http://abebooks.com (my favorite book shopping site). ;o)

Leave a Reply

