Ready For A New Fashion

I don’t know about you, but I’m sick to death of the whole droopy pants and boxer shorts trend.  Who in God’s green earth started this silly fashion? At first, I thought it would be here today and gone tomorrow like the baggy M.C. Hammer pants, but it has been years now and the stupid style hasn’t let up.

I was driving to the store the other day, and I saw a young kid with his pants sagging mid-way off his rump. Underneath his pants, a pair of Wile E. Coyote boxer shorts covered his backside. I think he was trying to run to the bus stop, but he could barely move and hold his britches at the same time. He must have had at least five inches of excess denim around his ankles, and if he had let go of his pants they would have fallen down. I don’t get it. Why would someone want to walk around all day holding their pants up? 

I see these kids wearing these pants all the time and I’m always tempted to say something, but it was my mother who actually called a young man out.  My mother is all of five feet tall, but she’s packed full of spiritual wisdom. I think of her as the Christian equivalent to Yoda. She ambled up to the young man and tugged on the hem of his t-shirt. “Excuse me, young man,” she said, and tugged until he turned around. “Do you know that your pants are hanging down and your behind is showing?” 

He looked down at my sweet little momma and then at his friends who were laughing at him, and he pulled his pants up. “Yes, ma’am.”  

“Do you want me to see your behind?” 

“No, ma’am.” 

“Well pull your pants up then.” 

“Yes, ma’am.” 

Now if I had tried that. I would be dead, stuffed in a bag, and tossed somewhere along the Chattahoochee River. I think when you reach a certain age you officially receive a “say any doggone thing you want to say” free pass. Doesn’t it seem like that? And with my mom there is no fear. She’ll just say what’s on her mind and keep moving. I want one of those passes.

 

Related Posts:

Some Things You Ought Not Wear

Observations from a People-Watcher

The Most Unusual Hairstyle

 

10 Responses

  1. That’s hilarious! I’m really tired of that fashion too. That and women who show their behinds every time they bend over. It’s like, “Hello, don’t you feel a draft? Didn’t they have any pants in your size?”

    If you find out where to get one of those free passes, let me know.

  2. LOL I know exactly what you mean about women bending over and exposing more than I care to see. Good grief!

  3. I LOVE it. Having two teenage boys, I threaten to take a stapler and staple their underwear to their pants if I see them drooping. They have not made me do it yet. 😉

    Loved your Mom said something!!

  4. Amen, amen! I am so ready for that style to disappear. I can definitely see Mom going up to that young man. His friends laughed, but he pulled up his pants, didn’t he? I want that pass too. At what age does the pass kick in?

    Another style that drives me crazy is where women where their pants below the waste with rolls hanging over from their stomach. People just don’t get the fact that only certain body types can wear certain styles. Go figure. I may be old-fashioned style-wise but I TRY to do the best I can to hide my fat so people don’t know there is as much there as they might think. LOL

  5. I think if more mothers used the ol’ stapler we’d be seeing far less droopy pants. LOL. I love it!

  6. Women wearing pants with their stomach rolls hanging out drives me crazy too. In fact…I’m going to write a little something about it. 🙂 Whatever happend to taking pride in how you look? That’s what I don’t understand. Why would someone want the world to see their belly rolls?

  7. I work with youth. Here are some other pet peeves: spaghetti strapped tops with bra straps showing, t-shirts that are so thin that I can see their belly button and/or the pattern on their bra, shorts that are so short that they almost show their underclothes, and low-waisted pants/shorts/skirts that are so low that I can see the “thong-tops.”

    Yes, ma’am, I agree with you… Let’s take some pride in how we look! 🙂

  8. Oh my goodness, Sarah, your list should have been added to my list. I am soooo in agreement with you.

  9. Three cheers for your mom, Sharon!

  10. LOL!!! She’s more brave than I would have been.

Leave a Reply

