Wednesday Favorites

Isn’t it amazing how some movies have lines in them that people will remember forever? Sometimes I’ll get one of those lines in my head and it will take days, weeks, and even months to get it out. Does that ever happen to you? Since today is Wednesday favorites, I thought it would be fun to share some of my favorite movie one-liners.

Okay, here are a few of mine.

“Bubba knew everything there was to know about the shrimpin’ business” – Forrest Gump

“Stupid is as stupid does” – Forrest Gump

For my third and final quote, I’ll let you check it out for yourself. I love the movie Gladiator, and one of my favorite parts is when Russell Crowe’s character says his name and reveals himself to Joaquin Phoenix.

Remember this part?

Now it’s your turn. Tell us one of your favorite movie lines.

 

Related Posts:

Wednesday Favorites

 

12 Responses

  1. LOVED Gladiator. Hmmmm favorite movie line? “Somewhere in Time” (my all time favorite movie”

    There is so much to say… I cannot find the words. Except for these: ‘I love you.’

  2. Lori, you and I have such similar taste. 🙂 I loved the movie Somewhere in Time. Hubby and I stayed at the Grand Hotel on Mackinaw Island where the movie was shot, and I felt like I had passed through time myself. Very cool!

  3. Favorite movie line: “You’re a wizard, Harry!” from Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. I love, love, love the world Rowling has invented with the HP series, and even after re-reading the entire series six? seven times now? I am never bored with them.

  4. J.K. Rowling is such a brilliant writer. I saw a show on Oprah a few years ago and the woman who saved Rowling’s manuscript from the being trashed said the book was almost tossed out. Can you beleive it? Also, I read somewhere that Rowling received close to 30 rejections before a publisher said yes. I bet the people who turned her down are kicking themselves.

  5. I LOVED the movie Gladiator. Sadly, I’m not one who can remember lines without a little prompting. LOL! But I sure to love to relive a good show.

  6. Sometimes I wish I could get the movie lines out of my head. LOL.

  7. I LOVE Gladiator and Forrest Gump. I am love The Princess Bride… My favorite line in that movie is when Westley says to Princess Buttercup, “Death cannot stop true love; all it can do is delay it for a little while.”

    Also, there’s a scene in the Mel Gibson movie, “The Patriot” that just makes me cry every time! It’s when Mel Gibson is going back to war and his youngest girl, Susan, is refusing to speak to him. He says goodbye to all of his family and they all say goodbye and hug him. But when he comes to Susan, she shakes her head and won’t speak or hug him. He has to leave, so he gets on his horse and begins to sadly walk away. As he does, Susan begins to run after him, crying: “Papa! Papa, don’t go, I’ll say anything! Please, papa, I’ll say anything you want, tell me what you want me to say and I’ll say it… Papa please don’t go! ” He comes back, takes her in his arms and crying, says, “I’ll come back. I promise!” And then he swings back onto his horse and back to war…

    Oh, my gosh, I need to go find a kleenex now!

  8. That scene with Mel Gibson in “The Partroit” was such a heart-tugging moment. Oh my goodness, Sarah, now I’m all gushy just thinking about it. The Patriot was such a good movie.

  9. I LUV Gladiator!!! The part where he reveals who he is is one of my all-time favorite movie lines!!! My recent fave is from the movie “Prince Caspian” in the scene at Aslan’s How where they’re arguing over a battle plan…and Lucy reminds Peter, [Caspian, and all standing there], “Or have you forgotten who *really* defeated the white witch Peter.” Powerful!

  10. I haven’t seen “Prince Caspian” yet, but I loved the first Narnia so much that I might just buy ‘”Prince Caspian”. Thank you, Laryssa, for the endorsement which makes me want to see the movie even more.

  11. Casablanca: “I’m shocked, shocked that there’s gambling in here. ”
    Casablanca: “Here’s looking at you kid.”
    Casablanca: “Of all the gin joints in the world why did she have to come into mine?”
    I must have seen Casablanca now a million times and it never gets old. To quote Ingrid Bergman “nobody sings As Time Goes By like” Dooley Wilson.
    Moonstruck: Cher slaps Nicolas Cage’s face and says “Snap out of it.”

  12. These are some great quotes, Mary! Gotta love the classics and the funny ones like “Snap out of it.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

