Just Shoot Me and Put Me Out Of My Misery

Have you ever had one of those days when it seems like everyone around you is moving in slow motion? I had one of those days recently and it almost made me loose my mind.

Angry Blond Woman

I was standing in line at the grocery store, waiting to checkout, and there were only two people ahead of me. The first woman was completing her transaction with bags already in her shopping cart ready to be wheeled out to her car. I thought for sure I’d be out of the store in no time.

As I stood in line, I noticed the gentleman in front of me wasn’t pushing his cart toward the counter, but lagging back as if the woman in front of him still had items to be rung up. Even though he had half a cart of food, he waited until the cashier had rung up all of the woman’s stuff before he pushed his cart to the counter. Honest to Pete, it took all of my self-control not to nudge the man forward. And if that wasn’t painful enough, he handed the cashier each item in his cart one-by-one, and waited for each item to be scanned and placed in the plastic bag before he’d give her another object. Can you believe that? For crying out loud, what was the necessity of handing the cashier each doggone item?

I was fuming. The more I watched, the more my blood pressure skyrocketed. Then it hit me or should I say the Lord gave me a love-tap. I wasn’t even in a rush. It wasn’t like I was late for an appointment or anything like that. I just didn’t want to stand there and watch the man moving at a slug’s pace. Intellectually, I knew, just as sure as I was standing there, that I was failing the Lord’s patience test. I knew it, but I couldn’t help myself.

And then a soft still voice inside me whispered, “Why are you so upset? Have you offered to help? Be patient, Sharon.” Talk about a calming affect. I instantly settled down and realized that I must learn to be patient with other people just as God is patient with me.

Come on though, tell the truth. If you had been standing in that line would you have been impatient too?

 

 

 

Related Posts:

Ready For a New Fashion

The Difference between Men and Women

What Was I Thinking?

 

4 Responses

  1. Absolutely, I would’ve been impatient, but I probably would’ve reasoned myself out of it the same way you did. Plus, I can never wait to get back in my Jeep- that’s my excuse. 😀

  2. What a great reminder, Sharon–that has been me, far too many times. On the other hand, I’ve met so many great folks while waiting in lines . . . shared thoughts, encouragement, laughs. So important to take that deep breath . . . be still and know Who has the plan! 🙂

  3. This story is me to a tee. Sometimes when I’m in hyper mode it’s hard to down shift into low gear. Great story!

  4. Thanks, Mary. It feels good to know I’m in good company and I’m not the only one who needs to downshift sometimes.

Leave a Reply

