Wednesday Favorites

For some reason, I’ve been on an eighties music kick, listening to songs by Prince, Michael Jackson, and Air Supply. I have to confess, I’m an old school R&B girl and an old school rocker, which completely baffles my husband. Hands down, the best concerts I’ve ever seen were Earth Wind and Fire, Queen, Styx, Prince, The Rolling Stones, and Def Leppard. I’m so glad to see Duran Duran is still around, but I wonder what happened to groups like Tears for Fears. I must have listened to that song “Everybody Wants to Rule the World” a million times.

Ah…the eighties. Do you guys remember Prince’s movie Purple Rain? When I see the movie now it looks so cheesy, but at the time I was so into the music that I didn’t care. I think my Prince phase lasted at least a decade. I can remember a group of my friends lip-singing “I Would Die 4 U” and winning first place in a CMU (Central Michigan University) mock rock competition. Man that was so much fun. I’d say the only thing about the eighties that I don’t miss is the clothes. Oh, and the hair. Goodness, the hairspray I bought back then could stucco a house.

By now you’ve probably guessed my favorite eighties music artist. I’m going to have to say…Prince. My favorite song by his purple highness is “I Would Die 4 U”.

Don’t leave me hanging here, guys. Tell me some of your favorites eighties songs and artists.

 

 

 

Related Posts:

Wednesday Favorites

 

9 Responses

  1. I LOVE THE 80’s. Totally miss the music and the BIG HAIR. (I was at leadt 5’10” in the 80’s.)

    Loved Duran Duran, Scorpions, Howard Jones (especially that Wo-wo-wooo, wo-wo-wooo song), and then there was the whole New Wave movement….

    Ahh, memories….

  2. I was a Def Lepard, Bon Jovi, Whitesnake fan… But I also loved Chicago, Journey, Peter Cetera, and Richard Marx. 🙂

    And the 80’s movies? The Karate Kid movies… The Brat Pack movies… Love ’em! And the music really made those movies didn’t it?

  3. Sarah, of all the Brat Pack movies, which was your fave? I loved the Breakfast Club.

  4. Oh my goodness, Georgiana, I completely forgot about the Wo-wo-wooo song. I haven’t heard it in ages. Every now and then I’ll catch one of the “where are they now” shows, and I’ll get to relive the ’80s music. What a hoot!

  5. Oh, definitely The Breakfast Club. (“Don’t You Forget About Me”) But I really loved anything and everything with Molly Ringwald in it (i.e. Sixteen Candles). 🙂

  6. Prince was my favorite back then too! Others: Ms. Betty Wright, EW&F, Manhattans (my first bier tent concert on base in Darmstadt, Germany), Yarborough & Peoples, S.O.S., Kool & the Gang…I can’t name them ALL!!! But music was music back then….ahhh the memories!

  7. This one came out in the very early 80’s: Longer by John Fogelberg. OK, I know, I’m a sentimentalist!

  8. I use to love Yarborough & Peoples and the SOS band. I wonder what happened to Y&P. You are so right, John, music was music back then. I miss it sometimes, but thank goodness for my iPhone. I have all the good tunes with me all the time now. 🙂

  9. Angie, I think I remember that one. Isn’t it the song were he says, “Longer than any bird ever flew. I’ll be in love with you?” That’s such a pretty song. I wish I had it in my music libarary doggone it. Not I’m all gushy thinking about that beautiful song.

Leave a Reply

