And Doggie Makes Three

It’s official…we now have a new member of the family. On Memorial Day, my husband and I adopted an adorable little Yorkie that’s too cute for words.

 YorkieXSmall

Unfortunately though, she’s not housebroken so it’s been an adventure getting her go outside. The frustrating thing about housetraining her is that she’ll come in from a walk, wait until I turn my back, and then pee on the floor. Honest to goodness, I turned around to do something and by the time I looked at her again, she had peed. Just that quick. After walking ten minutes, she came in the doggone house and peed. Not on the hardwood floor mind you. No, she peed on the carpet. And to top it off, she sat there looking at me with a sweet expression that said, “Look, Mommy, I made pee pee.” Sheesh. But it’s hard to be mad at her when she looks so cute with her big brown eyes and doggie grin. No fair!

At least she’s stopped barking at every noise she hears. Two days ago, we had a brief thunderstorm and she barked every time the thunder clapped. Every time! Now, thankfully, she’s much calmer. I think she needed time to settle down. I bought her a few new toys and there’s one that she loves to bite and shake real hard with the squeaky part between her teeth. She’ll bite on the toy, shaking and growling at it, like she’s teaching the toy a good lesson. Grrrrrrr.

Isn’t it amazing how much our pets become a part of our families? We had a Yorkie for seven years and she recently passed away. Her death was like mourning a best friend. Not a day goes by when I don’t think about her. And now I wonder how well she would have gotten along with our new little girl.

I really do think it’s true that pets help us live longer. Joy and love go a long way when it comes to maintaining a healthy heart. Do you have a pet? Are you a dog person, cat person, or both?

 

 

Related Posts:

My Dog is Not for Sale

18 Responses

  1. We have both – plus I think we just got a new “friend” – a blue heeler has been hanging around the house for the last few days. *sigh* I’m such a push-over.

    Good luck with the housebreaking – it’ll be worth it in the end (pun intended).

  2. Aww, congratulations, Sharon. That housetraining thing is killer. LOL I hope y’all get your new baby trained quickly! We have a Golden Retriever that we got seven years ago–and she’s as much my “child” as my kids are. LOL We’re going to add another rescue dog this summer or early fall.

  3. She is adorable!!!!! Congrats on your new addition.

  4. Thanks, Angie, I know you’re right. She’s a smart dog so I’m sure she’ll figure it out soon. I hope anyway.

  5. Ronie, I have a good friend that has three Golden Retrievers. They’re such loveable dogs. Make sure to post pictures of your new dog on Facebook once you get him or her. 🙂

  6. Hi, Lori. Thank you so much.

  7. That’s great about the new addition, Sharon! What is her name?

    You asked in your post, “Do you have a pet?” It’s more like our three dogs have us. 🙂 Jim and I have two Basset Hounds and an all-American dog.

  8. Hi Sharon –

    Oh, Yorkies are sooo adorable. Congrats!

    I had two cats many years ago – Abraham and Sarah. What a pair those two were! I missed them terribly when they died, but felt not to get another cat. It’s a good thing I didn’t. Beloved came along, and he was extremely allergic to cats.

    Blessings,
    Susan 🙂

  9. The owners that we purchased our dog from said her name is Chloe, but darn if she listens when I call her. 🙂

    Basset Hounds are so cute. They always seem so relaxed. One of the dog rescue places that we visited had a Basset Hound Beagle mix and boy was he cute!

  10. Susan, I love the names Abraham and Sarah! How cute is that?

  11. I’m TOTALLY a dog person! I didn’t know that until 2 years ago when I got conned into taking in a stray, abused dog. I took Sadie in when she was 4 months old, housetrained her, and she’s been my most faithful sidekick ever since. She’s a 55-lb. pit bull/boxer mix and she thinks she’s a lap dog! 🙂

  12. Isn’t it sweet when bigger dogs lay in your lap like little puppies? I wonder if they know they’re melting our hearts.

  13. Hello! I know this is kind of off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does operating a well-established website such as yours take a large amount of work?
    I am brand new to blogging but I do write in my diary everyday.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can share my experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

  14. Excellent blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring
    writers? I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a
    little lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that I’m totally
    confused .. Any suggestions? Thank you!

  15. Because the admin of this website is working, no hesitation very soon it will be
    famous, due to its feature contents.

  16. Wow! In the end I got a website from where I be able
    to actually obtain useful facts concerning my study and knowledge.

  17. Hi everyone, it’s my first visit at this web page, and piece of writing is truly fruitful for me, keep up posting these articles.

  18. The oil is diluted using a slower process, a long list like oil pulling this,
    if you want to rinse that away. This is a very powerful detoxifying effect.

Leave a Reply

