The Lone Boot

Several weeks ago, I visited the blog of one of my Twitter buddies, Jewel, and she had a funny post about finding a single shoe on the side of the road. A few days after reading and commenting on her article, I was out walking my dog and guess what I found? Yep, a dadgum boot on the dadgum sidewalk! How weird is that? It’s like I talked the thing into existence. Just so you know that I don’t make these crazy stories up, here is a picture.

 

iPhone Photos 107

 

So…here’s what I want to know. How did the boot get there? And have you ever noticed that when you find a shoe by the side of the road, it’s always one shoe? Why not the pair? Same thing with socks. Why just one sock? Did someone flick their foot in the car and their shoe went flying out the window? Oooh even better…have any of you ever lost a single shoe or a single sock?

Okay, I know I’m on a roll with these questions, but I promise this is the last one. What’s the strangest thing you’ve seen on the side of the road?

 

 

 

 

Related Posts:

Go Ahead and Look Already

Half-Finished Tattoo

Ready For a New Fashion

 

5 Responses

  1. Cute! you have me laughing…great picture! I see you stopping your car and running to this spot to take a shot of it.

  2. Here’s how some single shoes show up:
    Dr. Dobson had a program on about funny things that happen to families.
    One family was taking a long trip, possibly for wedding, and every few minutes they were asking if they were there yet, along with loud sibling rivalry. Apparently the sibling rivalry got to the dad, so he warned them if they didn’t quiet down, he’d take care of it. Of course, as siblings are, they kept it up. The father pulled aside, and spanked the children involved. The mother, in exasperation, said they couldn’t talk until they arrived at their destination.
    Time moves on and they are about to arrive, and one of the little ones piped up, ‘Can we talk yet?’ He was given permission, upon which he disclosed that when he was spanked way back, one of his shoes fell off. The mother in frustration pulled the boy’s shirt up over his head.
    Needless to say, they had to buy a new pair of shoes for the boy.
    So that’s why someone might see only one shoe on a road.

  3. Linda, at last someone has explained a plausible reason. Thank you for sharing that story because I can totally see something like that happening.

  4. Now THERE is a scenario that I hadn’t thought of. Thanks for this post, Sharon. I love you!

  5. Jewel, you’re such a blessing. I love your sense of humor. Thank you for stopping by and posting a comment.

Leave a Reply

