Wednesday Favorites – Summer Activities

Summer is here and I can’t help but remember how much I use to look forward to being out of school and playing all summer long. Maybe I’m feeling overly nostalgic, but I thought it might be fun to stroll down memory lane and share our favorite childhood summer activities.

Of all the fun things I liked to do during the summer when I was a kid, I’d say going to an amusement park and riding the roller coasters was at the top of my list.

Roller CoasterXSmall

If we came to the United States to visit my grandparents, we would bug the ever livin’ life out of my parents until we got to go to someplace like Six Flags, or Disneyland, or Knots Berry Farm. I loved the roller coasters (still do) and we would ride until our parents dragged us from the park.

Of course, going to an amusement park was a special event that happened once during the summer if we were lucky. All the rest of the days, I did my best to live at the swimming pool. I either took swimming lessons, or just played around with my friends all day. In Germany, we had a cool shortcut that we took to get to the schwimmbad (swimming pool). The trek was just far enough away to be adventurous, but close enough to be worth the effort. I forget how many Deutsch Marks it cost to get in, but I remember asking my mom for money on a regular basis.

If not swimming or reading, I was probably in Vacation Bible School. Again, what a great time. My mom taught classes so as long as I was in somebody else’s class, I was sure to have an even better time cutting up.

Oh…to be a kid again. I’m not saying that I want to repeat my childhood per say, but I’d enjoy being carefree and spending my summers having fun darn near all day long.

How about you? What are some of your favorite childhood summer memories?

 

 

 

Related Posts:

Wednesday Favorites

 

5 Responses

  1. Where I grew up in southeastern NC, summers were for working. We worked some summers in the roof truss factory and others in the corn fields. One summer, we got to take a “working” vacation– we stayed at a lake house 6 miles from home while my mom taught summer school at the local high school. Once my mom was done with summer school, we’d take off for a few days at Atlantic Beach or Radio Island with my grandparents.

    The thing I really looked forward to each summer was church camp. For one incredible week, my brother and I would get to go to the mountains (which are about 10 degrees cooler than the coast where we lived) and really experience Jesus in a powerful way.

  2. Amusement parks are the best! Gotta love a good coaster.

    My favorite memory is spending weeks at a time with Grams–swimming, reading, eating, and generally having fun without the parents 😉

  3. Hi Sharon –

    I remember hula hoop contests, the small backyard pool, hanging clothes in the sunshine, having dinner on our screened in porch, sitting on the stoop at night with my parents to catch a cool breeze, and the Mister Softee ice cream truck.

    How’s that for a long sentence?

    Blessings,
    Susan 🙂

  4. I loved riding bikes in the neighborhood and playing with friends in a vacant lot that had vines that we could swing on.

  5. Sarah, Georgiana, Susan, Mary, you guys are so much fun. Thank you for walking down memory lane with me. I loved having your company. 🙂

Leave a Reply

