Q&A with Author Stacy Hawkins Adams

I’m delighted to have as my guest, Stacy Hawkins Adams, one of the first published authors that I met when I first started writing.

Stacy Hawkins Adams

To this day, I appreciate Stacy’s encouragment, her desire to share knowledge, and her loving spirit. For those of you who don’t know Stacy, I’ll start by tell you that she’s an award-winning journalist, author and speaker who uses the lens of faith to explore the twists and turns life throws her fictional characters. Women’s friendships, social issues and forgiveness are central themes of her work.

Stacy’s third novel, Watercolored Pearls placed second in the 2008 Book of the Year Awards sponsored by the American Christian Fiction Writers. Her fourth novel, The Someday List, recently graced Essence magazine’s bestseller’s list.

Before becoming an author and professional speaker, Stacy served as a reporter and columnist for the Richmond Times-Dispatch in Virginia. Her freelance articles have appeared in Heart & Soul and Gospel Today magazines, USA Today and on “Crosswalk.com”.

She speaks regularly to corporate, faith-based and civic groups, as well as leading writing workshops and participating in writing conferences.

Stacy’s fifth novel, Worth a Thousand Words, releases in late June. She is at work on her first nonfiction book focused on women and faith.

You recently had a new book released titled The Someday List. What’s the book about?

The Some Day Listpix 

Rachelle Covington has it all. A fabulous home, a handsome and prestigious husband, two beautiful children, and a place in the upper crust that’s quite comfortable. But her life is not all it’s cracked up to be. Rachelle visits a dying friend who leaves her with an unsettling challenge. As she seeks to meet it, she takes an honest look at her dissolving marriage, loss of identity and an abandoned faith and tries to pick up the pieces. This book is about Rachelle’s decision to finally examine her life and the choices she’s made, and determine what she can do and will do to discover and fulfill her life’s purpose.

Where did the inspiration to write your fourth book, The Someday List, come from?

I often hear from women readers, or encounter women in my work as a journalist, who find themselves at a crossroads, yearning to do what they’ve always dreamed about, but feeling unable to do so because they have to put everyone else’s needs first. I wanted to write a story that would address this place in life that many of us find ourselves. I also wanted to write a story about a woman who had to grapple with the stereotypes of what it means to be a Christian by the world’s rules, versus the importance of having a deep relationship with God. By the end of the novel, Rachelle knows a lot more about herself and about God, and is more comfortable with both.

I loved your three-book series with the characters: Serena McDaniel, Tawana, and Erika. Was it hard to say goodbye to them when you finished the last book in the series Watercolored Pearls?

Yes! These characters had become like friends, so it was challenging to sit in front of my computer and try to create new people to care about. It took a while, but I can honestly say that Rachelle, Gabe, Indigo and the other characters in the Jubilant Soul Series are just as real to me now as Serena and her friends.

Many people reading this article may not be published. Can you tell us a little bit about your journey to seeing your first novel in print?

My path was somewhat unorthodox, in that I was contacted by an editor for Revell Books, versus me soliciting a publisher or agent. I was writing my inspirational newspaper column during that time and had written a feature on a woman that interested this particular acquisitions editor. When he contacted her to request a book proposal, she asked me to help her write it. That resulted in the editor asking to see some of my writing projects, and the rest, as the cliché goes, is history. I consider the whole scenario divinely orchestrated.

For those of us who are nosey, can you tell us what your next book is about and when it will be released?

I’d love to! My next book is actually hot off the presses. Worth A Thousand Words is the sequel to The Someday List.

Worth_a_Thousand_Words cover

This novel focuses on Indigo Burns, the younger cousin of The Someday List lead character Rachelle Covington. Indigo is a recent college graduate, eager to forge her path in the world and pursue her dreams, when she’s faced with some challenging realities and some tough decisions about who she wants to be. Indigo realizes that you have to find the courage to accept difficult truths about yourself, and about others, before you can embrace life and love others unconditionally.

You can read excerpts of both novels on the Books page of my website, http://www.stacyhawkinsadams.com/

I’ve started a tradition on my blog that is in keeping with my blog’s humor and funny storytelling theme. With this in mind, I have one final question for you. Who is your favorite funny man?

Hmm, this is a tough one! I’ll say the late Bernie Mac, because he was funny, down to earth and sincere in his delivery, whether he was telling jokes or deadpanning on his namesake sitcom.

Thanks for having me as your guest, Sharon. I’m honored!

 

 

 

Related Post:

Author Spotlight on Sherri Lewis

Author Spotlight on Camy Tang

Author Spotlight on Candace Calvert

 

2 Responses

  1. I am a big fan of Stacy! I have followed her in the Times-Dispatch a long time, and invited her to speak at my (then) church about 14 yrs ago. (She accepted and was wonderful!)

    I think Stacy is an inspiration to women and I loved your interview. I came over from Twitter.

    Nice to meet you, Sharon.

  2. Great interview. Loving learning more about Stacy’s writing process.

    The Someday List was a great read and so was Worth a Thousand Words.

    Bernie Mac is definitely missed in my world.

Leave a Reply

