Wednesday Favorites – July Contest Begins Today

There was a time when I used to subscribe to at least four magazines. Oops…erase that. My husband and I subscribed to at least four magazines. Over time, most of them have dropped off, but I still love reading my favorite magazines when I have downtime. With our culture moving away from reading hardcopy printed material, and of course the recession, I wonder about the fate of magazines. Perhaps it’s just my imagination, but Time magazine seems thinner to me as does U.S. News and World Report, both of which we subscribed to this year. I hope these and other read-worthy magazines are able to weather the ad revenue drought and survive. What a shame it would be to lose magazines and newspapers.

To do my part in supporting the magazine publishing industry, I’ll not only share my favorites, but will offer a $20 voucher for a free subscription to the winner of this month’s contest. Here are a few of the magazine titles that the winner will be able to choose from: People, Essence, In Style, Golf Magazine, Southern Living, Time, Cooking Light, and many others.

 

In no particular order, here is my list of favorite magazines:

1. Writer’s Digest

2. People

3. Golf For Women (I learned that this magazine has shut down after 20 years of publication)

 

Below are the following ways to enter the contest.

1. Leave a comment on my blog for one entry into the drawing.

2. Tweet about this contest on Twitter for two entries. (Make sure to provide me with your Twitter username and let me know about your tweet.)

3. Write about the contest on Facebook and Twitter for three entries. (Don’t forget to pop back to my blog and let me know.)

The contest deadline is Monday July 20, 2009, and the winner will be announced on Tuesday July 21st. Let the games begin!

 

 

 

Related Posts:

Wednesday Favorites – Contest 

Wednesday Favorites – Summer Activities

 

7 Responses

  1. The game is rolling for me. Please enter me. BTW, have you tried “Adam” by Ted Dekker yet?

  2. My twitters are authors. So I put your site and contest on Facebook.

  3. Hi Linda,

    I’m so far behind in my reading it’s scary. I have about 10 books in the que before I get to any of Ted Dekker’s book. Since I’ve never read any of his books, which one do you suggest I read first–“Adam” or “Skin” or maybe a different one all together?

  4. Wish me luck!!

  5. Hi Sharon!
    Writer mag is one of my favorites, and sadly another favorite is a victim of the economy; I just bought the last issue of Pray! magazine. They do have a great site if anyone is interested http://www.praymag.com. I agree with your observations about newspapers and magazines. They are thinner, and I would hate to lose them. It’s just not the same reading them on the web.

    Blessings,
    Jane
    http://www.onlybyprayer.com

  6. Hi Sharon,

    If you are going to read Ted Dekker, maybe start with Skin. I haven’t figured that one out and need your help!!!
    Actually, I would suggest House. Or the Red, White, Black trilogy that now has another book called Green, so it’s no longer a trilogy!!!! Have fun!

  7. Linda, thanks for your insight and helpful suggestions. I’ll take your advice and start with “House.” I think I may need to work my way up to “Skin.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

