Wednesday Favorites – Quick and Easy Recipes

When God doled out the “good cook gene” He thought about me, shrugged, and said, “Nahhh.” He moved on to some other more fortunate person and said, “You…yes you. I’ll give you the cooking gene along with Sharon’s portion. You’ll make scrumptious meals that delight the palate while she eats everything in sight and watches her bum spread wider and wider.”

I wasn’t there at the creation of the universe, but I’m certain that some variation of this account must have happened. Why, you ask. Because cooking is one of my least favorite things to do and, frankly, I’m just not good at it. My sisters-in-law, on the other hand, are both wonderful cooks. In fact, one of my sisters-in-law is a gourmet cook. She makes the kind of dishes that you see in pretty magazines with garnishes and fancy names you can hardly pronounce.

Because of my unwillingness to invest the time needed to become a good cook, I tend to stick with quick and easy—no muss no fuss—recipes. Since today is Wednesday favorites, I’ll share one of the latest quick recipes that I found on the AJC (Atlanta Journal Constitution) website.

 

Easy Baked Ziti

Total time: 30 minutes         Serves: 8

 

Ingredients:

1 pound ground beef

3 cups ziti, or your favorite pasta, cooked and drained (about 6 cups)

1 (26-ounce) jar spaghetti sauce

8 ounces shredded mozzarella cheese

¾ cup grated parmesan cheese, divided

 

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a large skillet, brown meat and drain. Stir in ziti, spaghetti sauce, mozzarella cheese and ½ cup parmesan cheese. Spoon into 9-by-13-inch baking dish. Top with remaining ¼ cup parmesan cheese. Cover and bake 20 minutes.

 

Nutrition:

Per serving: 556 calories (percent of calories from fat, 49), 26 grams protein, 45 grams carbohydrates, 4 grams fiber, 30 grams fat, 81 milligrams of cholesterol, 792 milligrams sodium.

 

Find this article at :

http://projects.eveningedge.com/recipes/easy-baked-ziti

 

 

 

Related Posts:

Wednesday Favorites – Summer Activities

 

8 Responses

  1. LOL! Oh, poor Sharon! If we lived in the same town, I’d happily invite you over for a meal on occasion. I LOVE to cook. I just don’t like to cook when I’m only cooking for one. Now that my brother has moved in with me, I am enjoying cooking all over again.

    Does your husband like to cook?

  2. My husband is a very good cook, but unfortunately he doesn’t like to cook either. Every now and then I’m able to talk him into making his delicious chili, but now that summer is here we tend to BBQ quite a bit. Thankfully, he’ll cook up a storm on the grill…yet another reason why I enjoy the summer months.

  3. I must have gotten skipped too! It’s one of those things that takes a lot of time to learn, and I haven’t invested the time. Good thing my husband sells Schwan’s–takes some of the pressure off me 🙂

  4. Yummm I love Baked Ziti, would eat the whole pan if I could 😉

  5. I don’t mind cooking, but it’s far from my favorite thing. It’s too time consuming. Thank God for my mother or I’d probably live on Cheerios, frozen dinners, and hamburgers.

    When Beloved was alive, I delighted cooking for him. Once he got sick, food choices narrowed to where he couldn’t eat much of anything.

    Blessings,
    Susan 🙂

  6. If you don’t like to cook, then you have more time to write. 🙂

    My husband loves to grill, and I love it when he grills!

  7. Susan, you are so right about cooking being time consuming. I try to stay away from eating a lot of processed food, but the meals are so quick and easy that they’re hard to resist.

    I wish I could have met your hubby, but I look so forward to seeing him in heaven. He sounds like a wonderful man of God. Isn’t it funny how we can sometimes miss someone we haven’t met because through prayer and our connection with Christ we’re all family?

  8. Mary, I’m thankful my husband loves to grill also. He’s the grillmaster and I love everything he makes. Yum!

Leave a Reply

