The Ergonomic Chair of My Dreams

Ssshhh…do you hear it? Listen again… Here it now? That sound is my luxurious sigh as I sit in my brand-spanking-new HermanMiller Aeron chair.

Aeron Chair 2

 

For the last several months, the pain in my shoulders and legs had grown worse and worse. “You should get a new chair,” my husband said.

“Aahhh…I don’t know,” I said. But the more I thought about it the more it made sense. I spend hours upon hours sitting at my desk so why wouldn’t I invest in a chair that would provide maximum comfort? Still…I needed convincing.

“You should check out the Aeron chair,” my husband said. “I’ve sat in one before and it’s like sitting on air.”

“Really?” I said excitedly. “Who makes the chair?”

“HermanMiller.”

Uh-oh. My mind raced. HermanMiller equals quality and quality equals a hefty price tag. Doggone it! “How much are those chairs?” I asked.

“They range in price, but I can tell you now, they’re not cheap.”

My aching shoulders seemed to encourage me. “Come on. One look. Just take one look. What can it hurt?”

“I think I’ll stop by a store or two today,” I said, knowing good and well I’d be in some showroom by the afternoon.

Sure enough, after sitting in a boatload of chairs—wasting gobs of time—I finally made my way to Sam Flax and sat in the Aeron Posture Fit. Holy Toledo! The chair curved to my body and provided support in everyplace I needed it. My dream chair had been found!

I’m sitting in this bad boy right now, typing up a storm and loving it. I know it’s hard to part with hard-earned money, but sometimes you have to bite-the-bullet and go for it. If you spend hours and hours in a chair, it’s worth it to be as pain-free and comfortable as you can. If you need a good chair, do yourself a favor and check out the Aeron.

 

 

 

Related Posts:

Wednesday Favorites – Gadgets

 

4 Responses

  1. I feel the same way about the back support pillow I have in my car. I can’t leave home without it!

    Thanks for the chair recommendation. Someday…

    Blessings,
    Susan 🙂

  2. I’m so jealous! I use a hideous chair that my parents bought about 25 years ago for $5 when the Ramada Inn at the beach sold all of their furniture to remodel. It’s not even an office chair. The fabric is scratchy. And it’s a horrible, faded teal. 😛

  3. Susan, back support is so important–especially as we get older. These days I’m on a quest to keep my body as pain-free as possible, which isn’t always easy since the ol’ bod doesn’t always want to cooperate. 🙂

  4. LOL, Sarah, oh my goodness! I can’t believe your chair has lasted for 25 years. Now that’s what I call “made to last.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

