Wednesday Favorites – Office Supplies

It’s that time of year when parents help their children prepare for returning back to school. With all of the advertising, I’m reminded of how much I love office supplies. Weird, I know, but I’ve always loved stationary and nice pens. As a writer, I’ve found that there are certain office supplies that I absolutely must have. I’m sure I’m not alone in this—I hope not anyway.

So consider this my official dedication to one of my many quirks—office supplies. Here are my favorite three must-have items.

At the top of the list are 3×5 index cards. I read a suggestion in James Scott Bell’s book, Plot & Structure, where he explained how index cards can be used to outline a story. I loved the simplicity of the idea so much that I’m now hooked.

 Post-it Notes To-doXSmall

 

 

Second on the list are sticky notes. I’m not a sticky-note-oholic but I do like to post reminder notes to myself and they’re a big help.

 

 

 

 

 

Last on the list are pocket folders. I use those things to tote around notes of every kind and I have one or two for each novel.

There you have it, folks. Who else enjoys office supplies? Anyone? Bueller…

 

 

 

Related Posts:

Wednesday Favorites – Gadgets

Wednesday Favorites – Christian Comedians

Wednesday Favorites – Quick and Easy Recipes

 

9 Responses

  1. Oh, office supplies, how I love thee! When I walk into Staples, I get this unnatural surge of adrenaline… My eyes open wider. My blood pumps harder. I feel like I’ve come home.

    In college, I used 3×5 cards to outline an entire feature length screenplay that I wrote for my Senior Seminar class. I keep a box of them just next to the paper clips on my desk.

    To my co-workers’ great amusement, I also carry lined, neon, super-sticky post-its in my purse. They laugh, but when they need one, they are SO glad that I have them!

    I love legal pads. I’ve tried three-ring binders, spiral bound notebooks, and fancy daytimers. But for me, I find that a legal pad is just perfect. On the front page, I sketch out my weekly to-do list and then on the subsequent pages, I have everything from Bible study notes to blog post ideas to magazine article research notes. And since I carry a HUGE purse, it always fits.

    Have a WONDERFUL Wednesday, Sharon!

  2. Let’s see: Spiral notebooks are absolutely essential.
    I use them for journaling. Those small fancy
    jobs are cute, but impractical as they fill up
    to fast.

    I use them for Conferences, research, and
    task lists. If I see a sale, I buy in quantity.

    Sticky notes. If they’d stay, I’d probably wear
    a few. As I type, I’m looking at 5 stuck to my
    computer and a bunch scattered over my
    desk. They’re indispensable.

    I also have two 3-pocket, plastic organizers
    hanging on my wall. They keep current
    projects handy, but out of the way.

    Yup, office products. Love ’em.

    Susan 🙂

  3. Wow, Sarah, I thought I was the only one that got a surge of adrenaline when entering Staples. I’m so relieved to learn I’m not alone! 🙂

  4. Susan, I tend to use legal pads the way you use spiral notebooks. I’d be lost without them. I should have included them on my list. That reminds me, I better make sure I have some before I go to the ACFW Conference next month. Ooh…let me write that down before I forget…

  5. Okay here are my office supply obsessions: sticky notes, very nice pens (including those really nice and colorful gel pens) and notebooks. Oh yes and colored plastic coated paper clips.

    Is there therapy for this? LOL

  6. Sharon, sometimes we’re so alike that I think we must have been harvested from the same cabbage patch! 🙂

  7. LOL Mari, if you find a cure for this quirk let me know. 🙂

  8. I ADORE office supplies. It’s my favorite time of the year. We loaded up! Especially love the Post-its and new notebooks, not that I’ll ever fill up all of them (I have PLENTY.) There’s something so calm and soothing about visiting Staples….

  9. You are so right, Georgiana, about the calmness of stepping into a Staples. Man, I love that store!

Leave a Reply

