Books on the Go

For months, I anguished over not being able to find the time to read all of the books in my reading cue. The longer my unread novels sat on the shelf, the more frustrated I became. There has to be some way to enjoy more books this summer, I thought. And then an idea popped into my head. For some reason, I had gotten away from listening to audio books, but now they might be the perfect solution.

Not Listening  XSmall

So, off I went to the library and discovered not only books on CD, but electronic books that can be downloaded to my iPhone. You guys know how much I love my iPhone! If you enjoy listening to audio books or even reading eBooks, and you haven’t checked out NetLibrary at www.netlibrary.com, I would strongly encourage you to take a look. Basically, Netlibrary is a very large eContent provider for libraries and publishers and they offer more than 190,000 eBooks as well as thousands of eAudiobooks. The thing I really like about this system is that it’s free through my county library. Whether you have an iPhone, iPod or an MP3 player, you can download books to your device.

If you check out NetLibrary and you don’t find what you’re looking for, consider taking a tour of the iTunes audio bookstore. A few weeks ago, I downloaded The Shack by WM. Paul Young for $5.95. Five dollars and ninety-five cents! That’s cheaper than the price of the printed book. I really enjoyed the novel, by the way, but I’ll share my thoughts on the story in a later post.

I have one more suggestion in case none of these options float your boat. Take a look at audible.com and see if one of their three programs fit into your budget. If, however, you visit audible.com/gg, you’ll receive a free audio book when you sign up. The “gg” is for Grammar Girl, but I’ll also talk about her a little later.

So there you have it, folks. Three different ways for you to access audio books at a very reasonable price—or in the case of NetLibrary they’re free. Let me know if you try one of these out and also be sure to pass along any deals that you happen to hear about.

 

 

 

Related Posts:

The Ergonomic Chair of My Dreams

Where Have All The Ergonomic Keyboards Gone?

Wednesday Favorites – Gadgets

 

4 Responses

  1. Hi Sharon,

    Of course you know I have a particular interest in audiobooks. Another site your readers might enjoy is christianaudio.com. Once you sign up for a free membership there, you get a free featured download each month. It’s pretty nice.

  2. Susan, I remember you telling me about christianaudio.com awhile ago, but for some reason I never got around to really checking them out. I will definitely take a look at their site now that you’ve refreshed my memory. Thank you so much.

  3. Thanks for the heads up on Netlibrary; went to my local library’s website and found a link for downloadable audio books; I wish only that I’d found it two weeks ago for our drive to Atlanta. The audiobooks I did get from the lib’s limited selection sucked, 5mins on the library’s site and I found three books I’d have rather taken with us.

  4. Patrick, when I found the Netlibrary I was so pumped that I had to tell other people about it. It’s so easy to use–and FREE!

Leave a Reply

