Wednesday Favorites – Flowers

As much as I love autumn I find that I miss all of the colorful spring and summer flowers. For as long as I can remember I’ve always loved flowering bushes and plants. Each year, I filled our flowerbeds with hearty annuals and tucked them around complimentary perennials like daylilies, and I enjoyed the beautiful blooms until the cold season rolled in. Now that we live in a warmer climate I’ve noticed that pansies seem to hold up nicely all winter. To keep from getting the winter blahs I frequently buy fresh cut flowers from the grocery store, and enjoy the natural visual beauty while the flowers last.

Floral Bouquet XSmall

Are there any flower lovers like me out there? If so, what are you favorites? It’s difficult for me to narrow the list down to three, but I’ll do my best.

Topping the list are tulips. I go crazy for tulips in the spring—yellow and peach are my favorites, but heck, all tulips are beautiful to me.

Second on the list are daisies. There’s a line from the movie You’ve Got Mail that tickles me every time I watch the scene with Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks. Meg Ryan’s character says, “Aren’t daisies just the friendliest flowers?” She couldn’t be more right.

Let’s see…third on the list has got to be roses. Once again, I tend to gravitate toward the yellow and peach roses, but a rose by any color is still a rose. 🙂

I’d like to give a shout-out to all of my fellow flower lovers. Take a quick moment to tell us your favorites.

 

 

Related Posts:

Wednesday Favorites – Department Stores

Wednesday Favorites – Keepsakes

 

4 Responses

  1. Oh, I do like that like in You’ve Got Mail. I wish I knew the name of my favorite–the one my hub got me several times when we were first together. I think they are some kind of tropical lily. Gorgeous.

  2. You’ve Got Mail is one of my favorite movies too, Georgiana. Your hubby sounds like a definite keeper with great taste in flowers. 🙂

  3. A couple of weeks ago, Mom and I stopped at a discount produce place that also sells flowers. They had a special on roses – $3.00 a dozen. Mom treated me to a beautiful pink bouquet.

    In the good ol’ days when Beloved was alive, he stopped there on a regular basis for flowers. I’d been missing both him and the flowers, so it was a special treat.

    I also love Black-Eyed Susans and New Guinea Impatiens. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Susan

  4. What girl doesn’t love flowers. Like you Sharon, a bright spring or summer bouquet is my favorite. But any flower seems to brighten my day!

Leave a Reply

