Wednesday Favorites – Tyler Perry Movies

***Contest time again!!!!***

A few weeks ago, I was talking to a fellow writer, and when she learned I lived in Atlanta she asked me if I had seen Tyler Perry’s house. Unfortunately, I have no idea where he lives, but I’ve heard his mansion is beyond huge. Lord help me—and him—if I figure out where the poor man lives. You’d read about it in the newspaper or probably spot me on TV. I’d be the crazy lady standing on the street, in front of the security gate, waving my manuscript and shouting, “Tyler! I mean, Mr. Perry! I have your next movie right here. It’s got Hollywood written all over it.” Shameful isn’t it? How someone can loose their mind just that quick.

But I really do love Tyler Perry movies. They’ve all been good really, but I have three that are my favorites. What I like about Tyler’s movies is the way he blends humor with serious gritty topics. One minute I’m laughing out loud, and the next I’m welled up with unshed tears. Critics may bash the way he weaves faith into his movies amid the cursing and course language, but I’ve found each story has some message of hope through Christ Jesus and I like that. If you haven’t seen one of the below Tyler Perry movies, now is your chance to win your own DVD.

Here are my Wednesday favorites:

Madea Goes to Jail

Diary of a Mad Black Woman

Meet the Browns

Have you seen any of these movies? What are your favorites by Tyler Perry?

And now for the contest…Leave a comment with the name(s) of your favorite Tyler Perry movies and you’ll be entered in the drawing to win the DVD Diary of a Mad Black Woman. Contest ends October 26, 2009, and the winner will be announced on October 27th. Chances of winning depend on the number of entries, and the contest is available to US residents only.

Related Posts:

Wednesday Favorites – Kid Movies

Wednesday Favorites – Inspirational Movies

Wednesday Favorites – Christian Comedians

4 Responses

  1. I’ve never heard of Tyler Perry Movies. The trailers are great. I love Madea Goes To Jail and Diary of a Mad Black Woman. Please enter me. Thanks.

  2. Hey Lady! I LOVE me some Tyler Perry! (But don’t enter me in the contest… Let somebody else win this one!)

    And I can just see you standing in front of his house, hollering at it. We’d see that scene in his next movie. 🙂

  3. Linda, Tyler Perry is hilarious as Madea. If you like the trailers than you’ll really enjoy the movies. 🙂

  4. LOL. Oh my gosh, Sarah, can’t you just picture it. What a hoot!

Leave a Reply

