Wednesday Favorites – Quotes

Have you ever heard something said so perfectly you wish you’d have said it? Some people seem born to be quoted as they effortlessly say simple, yet profound, comments that burn into your memory because of their sheer wisdom. Gosh darn it to heck…just once before I die I’d like to say one of those profound lines that people quote till the end of time. Like that’s really going to happen. But hey, even if I’m not quoted, I can certainly hold on to my favorite quotes and use them for inspiration. As with all lists, it’s always difficult narrowing down a selection to just three, but in this case, I really do have three quotes that are forever on my tongue and in my mind.

The first quote is from the poet Maya Angelou. I read this quote in O Magazine years ago, and to this day I say it from time-to-time. She wrote, “When somebody shows you who they are…believe them.” I continue to find this statement so profound. Often, we see what we want to see in a person and we believe that false image because it suits us. What I’m learning to accept is the truth of how someone is toward me, and I try very hard to believe that truth rather than my internal lie. I can’t tell you how freeing this realization has been for me.

My second quote is by Earl Nightingale. For those of you who are not familiar with Earl, he’s a motivational speaker and a self-help leader. In his audio series titled “The Strangest Secret,” Earl said, “We become what we think about.” Is that not profound—simple yet true?

I can’t, for the life of me, recall who originally said this last quote, but again, the words have stayed with me. “If you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you’ve always gotten.” When I say this quote to myself, it pushes me to do something different than what I’ve been doing so that I can derive a different result.

There you have it, folks, my three favorite quotes. Do you have a favorite you can share with us?

 

 

 

Related Posts:

Wednesday Favorites – Keepsakes

Wednesday Favorites – Seasons

 

4 Responses

  1. You’ve got some good ones here. I wish I had one! Sadly, my memory is not too sharp when it comes to memorizing quotes. You should see how long it takes me to memorize Bible verses!

  2. Georgiana, my memory isn’t very good either. For some reason, when I read Maya Angelou’s quote it stuck in my head like super glue. Every now and then I’ll read something that stays with me for years afterward, which is profoundly amazing to me, considering my ever-increasing bad memory.

  3. “Bitterness is the poison we drink hoping our enemy will die.” I don’t remember who said it, but I quote it all the time.

    My paraphrase of MLK, Jr. “Evil will prevail when good men do nothing.” (I think I have the source right).

    Dietrich Bonhoeffer “The test of marality of a society is what it does for its children.”

    I love your Earl Nightingale quote.

  4. Carol, thanks for sharing the wonderful quotes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

