Barnes and Noble Nook vs. the Amazon Kindle

I’m sure you all have heard the latest buzz—it’s hard not to—over Barnes and Noble adding a new player to the eBook reader game. The Nook is touted by B&N as the world’s most advanced eBook reader. Let the games begin! As someone who has yet to purchase an eBook reader, I’ve been watching the emergence of this new technology with great interest. From a purely objective perspective, I would have to say the newly introduced Nook will give Kindle a serious run for the money. I say that because of the greater volume of eBooks, eNewspapers, and eMagazines available to users. Also, as a visual person, I like the color touch screen, the no glare no backlight clarity, and the choices of font sizes and bookmarks. The cost of the Nook is $259 which is the same as Amazon’s newly lowered price for the Kindle.

When I flip the coin and look at the Kindle, I have to say there are a few features that really standout to me. Quick and easy downloads of free sample chapters is an awesome way to try before buying. With this feature, a reader can read a bit of the novel and determine if the book will interest them before investing in the expense. Also, I like the idea of the read-to-me feature, which converts text to speech, and allows you to listen while the device reads you your books, magazines, etc.

 

I’m just curious…do any of you have an eBook reader? If you do have one, which one did you purchase and how do you like it?

I’m waiting until the cost comes down below $200 before I consider the investment. Since this technology is the wave of the future, I’ll be keeping an eye on how the market progresses.

  

Related Posts:

The Vook is Here

Books on the Go

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

 

7 Responses

  1. No e-book readers here! I love love love the feel of real books. I love the smell of libraries and used book stores. I love putting a book marker between the pages and watching my progress (I know that sounds silly, but a girl has to have goals.) 🙂

  2. Georgiana, I know exactly what you mean. But I’ve heard several people say they were surprised at how easily the took to the Kindle because they thought they’d prefer the feel of a book in their hands. I’m not sure if the an ebook reader is for me, but I’ll keep it in mind as the prices start to drop.

  3. I’ve been thinking about purchasing an e-book reader all year.
    My choices have been between the Kindle and the Sony eReader. Now that the Nook has come out, I have to say I’m leaning towards the Barnes and Nobles version. I really love the color screen and the ability to read PDF’s.

    I’m a techy girl, so making the transition over to an ebook reader won’t be a difficult one other than, like you, I would like to see the price come down some.

  4. E-book readers seem convenient, but I prefer a book in my hands. I tend to be able to ‘photograph’ pages, and I can find things easily. Can’t do that with an e-book. What if you run out of space because you have so many ‘keepers’? Plus, if you drop an e-book reader, how durable is it? It would be great for people who can’t hold books, however. I think I will stick with books for now, anyway. I’d use an e-reader if I won one, however!!!

  5. Oh how I’d love to win an ebook reader. 🙂

  6. To Answer Linda’s question, With the Kindle at least you can access the books that you have purchased and download them onto your kindle as well, so they’re all stored on a server so and you can download them in about a minute to your kindle.

  7. Ryan, that’s an excellent point about the Kindle. Thanks for letting us know about being able to download a book on the Kindle so quickly.

Leave a Reply

