A Visit with Romance Author Cecelia Dowdy

Cecelia Dowdy

Cecelia Dowdy is a world traveler who has been an avid reader for as long as she can remember. When she first read Christian fiction, she felt called to write for the genre. She loves to read, write, and bake desserts in her spare time. She also loves spending time with her husband and young son. Currently she resides with her family in Maryland.

I was so tickled when I read on your website that you’re the daughter of a military father. So am I! How did your experiences growing up shape your writing?

I guess from living on a military base, it showed me a lot about living with a melting pot of people. There were Whites, Blacks, Asians, plus lots of mixed children. When we finally left the military base when I was ten, it was a culture shock…I moved to a predominantly White area and missed the joy and camaraderie from the military base! I still miss that, actually! Not sure how it’s really shaped my writing, though! I grew up in the seventies, and I think I’d like to write a novel someday set during that time period, in an environment that was similar to the one where I grew up.

The cover of Chesapeake Weddings makes me want to run to the country for fresh air and simple living. Tell us about this three-in-one collection?

chesapeake weddingsIt’s three stories in one volume, the re-release of my last three Heartsong Presents novels. I think Barbour made the cover suited for the second book in the series, Milk Money. I feel that Milk Money is the strongest out of the three stories! Here’s a brief summary of all three:

John’s Quest

John French, a science professor, is an agnostic–he’s unsure if God exists. When he’s hired to tutor a blind seven-year-old child, Scotty, he finds himself falling for the child’s beautiful aunt/guardian, Monica Crawford. Monica’s life changes drastically when her irresponsible younger sister abandons her handicapped son on her doorstep. As John helps Monica to educate her nephew, he falls in love with her. However, problems arise when Monica, a devout Christian, finds herself drawn to Scotty’s handsome and intelligent tutor. Monica finds herself in a bind because she knows it’s a sin to be unequally yoked with a non-believer. How in the world can these two lovebirds overcome the huge problems that stand in the way of their relationship?

Milk Money

Franklin Reese is appalled at the lack of interest the Cooper women have in the financial end of their livelihood, but he dives in, determined to help them learn. The further he looks into Mr. Cooper’s dealings, however, the more uncomfortable he becomes.
Can he uncover the truth of the situation and still earn the love of the amazing Emily Cooper? Will Franklin’s addiction to alcohol keep them apart, even after the farm is taken care of? Only God can heal hurting hearts and repair broken lives. Will these two let Him in?

Bittersweet Memories

Karen Brown is angry at God, and at herself, for falling in love with Lionel Adams, her ex-fiancé. When her beloved suddenly disappears, along with thousands of dollars stolen from their mega-church, she re-locates back to her hometown in Annapolis Maryland to live with her mother. She’s stunned to discover handsome plumber Keith Baxter living next door. Keith is smitten with Karen, but wonders if she’s still in love with Lionel. He wants Karen to accept him into her life, but he doesn’t know if he’d be a good match for her due to his troubled past. Can Karen forgive Lionel, and let the Lord back into her heart?

What drew you to writing romance?

I guess since I’ve been reading romances since I was a teenager, I automatically decided to write one when I began my career as a novelist.

I see several of your books were published by Barbour Heartsong Presents. How did you find and meet your editor?

It’s kind of a long story. The person who originally referred me to Heartsong Presents, and expressed interest in John’s Quest is Tracie Peterson. She’s no longer with Heartsong, but, I met her several years before my first Heartsong was acquired. I met her at an RWA (Romance Writers of America) conference several years ago. I met my current editor, Joanne Simmons, at an ACFW (American Christian Fiction Writers) conference.

Chesapeake Weddings is due to release April 2010. With that project completed, what are you working on now?

I just completed a women’s fiction story with strong romantic elements tentatively entitled Southern Comfort. It’s unique because it involves a blind protagonist. Writing from the male point of view of a blind man was a bit of a challenging experience. Since it’s a longer book, I felt I needed an agent in order to submit to publishers. It was requested by an agent awhile back, so I’ll be sending that out shortly, and hopefully, and prayerfully, it’ll find a home.

What’s the hardest part of writing a novel—the outline, first draft, editing, etc.?

I’m not sure. I get stumped by different things. I guess the outline can be somewhat hard. The editing can be tough at times, though, especially content editing.

Okay, I’ll stop bombarding you with questions. 🙂 Before you go, though, I do have one more for you. What’s your favorite romance movie?

Titanic! Not sure if that’s considered romance, per se, since Jack dies near the end, but, still a great movie!! Wonderful tear-jerker!

Related Posts:

Author Spotlight on Megan DiMaria

Meet Romance and Southern Fiction Author Missy Tippens

2 Responses

  1. This author has great imagination. It’s very refreshing to see new ideas. Each of these books sound very intriguing.

  2. Very refreshing indeed, Mary. Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend.

Leave a Reply

