Award-winning Author Vanessa Miller Stops By

Vanessa Miller is a best-selling author, playwright, and motivational speaker. Her books have received rave reviews, winning Best Christian Fiction Awards and topping numerous Bestseller’s lists.

Vanessa, thank you for stopping by to tell us a little about yourself and the books you write. I understand the first novel in the Forsaken series came out recently. What’s the book about?

Forsaken tells the story of a fallen pastor’s journey back to God. It is a book that depicts a man’s struggles with infidelity (Pastor JT Thomas) but it doesn’t gloss over the issue. In Forsaken the reader will see the true response Christians need to have after they have fallen into sin.

I was so encouraged when I saw that you had originally self-published in 2003 and then later signed a five-book deal with Urban Christian/Kensington. How did the book deal come about?

Urban Books had just hired Joylynn Jossel as their new editor for the Urban Christian line. When she took over as editor, she began praying about the authors that God wanted her to begin the line with. I was one of those authors. I think it is important to keep in mind that I knew Joylynn before she became an editor. She and I had participated in a few author events together. So, networking was the key thing that helped this deal go through.

What do you hope the spiritual takeaway will be for your readers when they read Forsaken?

First and foremost, I want them to understand that sin will destroy your life bit by bit. But there is hope, because God is a forgiving God.

What’s your favorite part of writing?

I’m the type of writer who will cry, laugh or even say, “No he didn’t” during certain parts of the books I write. I love the written word, and I get into books like you wouldn’t believe. So, my favorite part of writing is creating the drama. I want to know what makes my characters tick, and what they are going to do about it. That’s exciting stuff for me.

Do you have any plans in the near future to write a standalone novel?

Actually, I’m writing it now. My standalone book comes out in November 2010 through Abingdon Press. The title of the book is Long Time Coming. I have four books releasing in 2010, but this is my tear jerker. A must read for sure.

Tell us about your writing environment and describe the area where you like to create.

I have writer friends who can write on the road, while on tour or in a Starbucks. But I prefer to be in my house, locked away in my small office. It is quiet there and the place feels familiar. This is where I do my best writing… that is, until my grandbaby invades my space and scribbles all over the outline of the novel I’m currently working on, or pulls the C, D, F and W off of my keyboard.

 

 

 

Related Posts:

Books, Conversation, and Insight from Bestselling Author Tia McCollors

Author Spotlight on Christina Berry

Q&A with Author Stacy Hawkins Adams

10 Responses

  1. Enjoyed reading this!

  2. Lori, thanks for stopping by today and I’m glad you enjoyed the interview.

  3. Sharon, I love the way you interview. Your guest’s bubbly personality really shines, and her books sound fantastic. You have a very nice blog. I ‘m so glad I subscribed!

  4. Kathleen, thank you for stopping by and encouraging both me and my guest, Vanessa Miller. You totally made my day! 🙂

  5. What a great interview, Sharon and Vanessa! The books sound great.

    Vanessa, so cute about your grandbaby! 🙂

    Missy

  6. I love the “No he didn’t!” reaction! That really is the fun part of writing.

    Vanessa does not look old enough to have a grandbaby!

  7. Georgiana, I loved that “No he didn’t” reaction, too.

  8. Missy, thank you so much for visiting and encouraging Vanessa and me. I enjoyed having Vanessa I got such a chuckle out of her comments about her adorable grandbaby. I can just picture it… 🙂

  9. Thank everyone, for reading my blog interview with Sharon. And yes, Georgiana, although I hate to admit it sometimes, I am old enough… 🙂

  10. Vanessa, it was a pleasure having you as a guest on my blog. Blessings to you as you continue to write for the Lord.

Leave a Reply

