Wednesday Favorites Contest – Christmas Movies

As I get older, I may not have the Christmas spirit the way I did when I was a child, but no matter what, I always love Christmas movies. It’s kind of hard not to when Christmas movies touch our hearts and make us believe in the goodness of people. This weekend, I popped in a DVD of one of my favorites and I realized that I never get tired of watching these oldies but goodies. Are you like that, too?

When you stop and think about it, movies like A Miracle on 34th Street are just as popular today as they were years ago. Newer versions come out, but still the stories appeal to men, women, and children of all ages. Since it’s the holiday season, I thought I’d not only list my favorite Christmas movies, but I’ll also offer one of my favorites to the winner of this month’s contest.

As always, narrowing down three favorites is tough, but here goes…

Let’s see…hum…I’m going to have to put the movie It’s A Wonderful Life at the top of my list.

Right up there next to It’s A Wonderful Life is The Family Man with Nicolas Cage and Tea Leoni.

Another favorite is the movie Scrooged with Bill Murray.

I also love the classic Charles Dickens story of Ebenezer Scrooge, played by Patrick Stewart.

And now for the contest. Leave a comment and tell us one or two of your favorite Christmas movies and you’ll be entered in the drawing to win the DVD It’s A Wonderful Life. The contest ends December 14, 2009, and the winner will be announced on December 15th. Chances of winning depend on the number of entries, and the contest is available to US residents only.

Related Posts:

Wednesday Favorites – Inspirational Movies

Wednesday Favorites – Kid Movies

11 Responses

  1. A recent favorite of mine is Christmas with the Kranks starring Jamie Lee Curtis & Tim Allen as an empty nest couple that decides to forgo Christmas & take a cruise until their daughter announces that she’s coming home at the last minute. The strong arm tactics by their neighbors that can’t believe they aren’t celebrating are hilarious.

  2. I’ll alwasy love A Christmas Story where everyone is worried the kid will shoot his eye out. Fun to think back on these

  3. My all-time favorite is It’s a Wonderful Life, which is showing here this Sat. It shows us the importance of what we do when we think it’s so small and unnoticed. God notices EVERYTHING we do, along with our heart’s motive. We play an important part in God’s scheme of life.

  4. Lisa, I love the part in Christmas with the Kranks when Jamie Lee Curtis is at the supermarket and buys the last ham, but she drops it before she can get it into her car and then she chases it down the street. Also, Tim Allen is hilarious!

  5. Georgiana, I remember seeing A Christmas Story and being so surprised by how laugh-out-loud the movie was. There are lines in that movie that I still quote, even now, and I have to laugh. “So quickly, I whipped up a batch of tears…” “I triple-dog dare ya?”

  6. Linda, you are so very right. God does notice everything we do and we are an important part of his plans.

  7. I only have one favorite–It’s a Wonderful Life. I try to catch it every year. If I had the DVD, that would make it easier, wouldn’t it? 🙂

    As for a second one, I used to like White Christmas, but for some reason it doesn’t hold the same appeal since college.

  8. Sally, White Christmas is one of my mom’s favorite Christmas movies. She never seems to get tired of watching it. For some reason that movie never tugged at me to watch it more than once.

  9. Hi Sharon –

    It’s a Wonderful Life is my all-time favorite Christmas movie. I could watch it over and over again.

    Does A Charlie Brown Christmas count? I’m a huge Peanuts Fan.

    Blessings,
    Susan 🙂

  10. Susan, I LOVE Charlie Brown Christmas. I have two CD’s with the Charlie Brown songs!

  11. Every year my brother would watch It’s a Wonderful Life which I thought was hoaky. This year I paid very close attention to it. I was blown away. The message applies to the present day. The banker who tries to shut out all the other banks and dominate the town and make the people pay higher rates. The loan company that tries to give citizens a higher standard of living and fights for every customer. The images of the town similar to Times Square when it was very seedy. Very simple, very subtle and very powerful.

Leave a Reply

