Wednesday Favorites – Christmas Music

Have you ever been Christmas caroling? I wonder if the old tradition of going from door to door, singing for friends and neighbors, is a thing of the past. I hope not. Even though I haven’t gone Christmas caroling since I was a little girl, I still like the idea of it. The last time I went Christmas caroling I remember getting all bundled up and walking with my friends and family as we moved from house to house singing. As the world changes, and our traditional sense of community evolves, I wonder if the neighborly spirit of Christmas caroling will fall by the wayside—assuming it hasn’t already.

Last week we talked about our favorite Christmas movies, but another aspect of Christmas that I really enjoy is the music. I can’t hear the song “Carol of the Bells” without thinking of my father—it’s his favorite. Over the years, as I’ve watched him enjoy listening to that song, somehow “Carol of the Bells” has become a favorite for me too. How can you not love this song?

And no Christmas holiday would be complete without “The Christmas Song” by legendary Nat King Cole.

As much as I love the old classics, I also enjoy contemporary Christmas music as well. I think one of my favorite newer Christmas songs is “All I Want for Christmas Is You” by Mariah Carey.

 

What songs fill you with Christmas spirit or nostalgia?

 

 

 

Related Posts:

Wednesday Favorites – Christmas Movies

Wednesday Favorites – Starbucks Beverages

 

10 Responses

  1. I blogged about this the other day too. There’s one song that touches my heart like no other–Mary Did You Know. Makes me misty-eyed every time to think of how precious it must have been to hold baby Jesus.

  2. Georgiana, I love that song too. I wonder if Mary knew that her Son would save us from sin as she held Him in her arms and kissed his little face. Can you imagine?

  3. I love the Carol of the Bells and Nat King Cole. But my favorites are Handel’s “Messiah.” I start listening to it around the first of October 1st. For a few years, I sang in the chorus with the NC Symphony Orchestra production of it… My favorite hymn is “Oh Come, Oh Come, Emmanuel” and my favorite “new” song is “Strange Way to Save the World.”

  4. Oh how I wish I could sing. I would sing songs like “Oh Come, Oh Come, Emmanuel” like an angel. My mom loves Handel’s “Messiah” and I think of her everytime I hear it.

  5. Hi Sharon –

    A group of young people knocked on my door a couple of nights ago and sang a couple of Christmas carols. We usually have one or two groups every year. It’s part of the charm of small town life.

    It’s hard to select one favorite. I enjoy Mary Did You Know, O Holy Night, and Handel’s Messiah. Oh Come All Ye Faithful also makes my heart soar.

    Blessings,
    Susan 🙂

  6. Hi Susan,

    You’re making me long for small-town living. I’d love to have Christmas carolers stop by.

    Blessings and Merry Christmas,
    Sharon

  7. Sharon–I think it’s Carol of the Bells that absolutely drives me wild–in the good way. This time of year, the Christmas carols are my favorites. I can’t get enough–not the Frosty Snowmen, but the ones celebrating Jesus.

  8. I know what you mean, Carol. Frosty the Snowman doesn’t really do anything for me. It’s the songs about Jesus and songs from classic crooners like Nat King Cole that really warm my heart. Blessings and Merry Christmas to you and your family.

  9. I love Christmas music because it’s so positive and upbeat. It also reminds me of my childhood going to Mass at Christmastime and singing all the religious songs. When my younger niece and nephews were little we sang all the Christmas carols and they loved to sing.
    A couple years back I was watching a wedding on one of the morning shows and they played Ave Maria by Pavarotti. It brought back so many memories of Christmas Mass when I was a kid.
    Another great thing I love about Christmas music is that we can listen to the all time greats like Nat King Cole, Bing Crosby, Andy Williams and so many more.

  10. Hi Everyone,

    Thank you all for sharing your favorite Christmas songs and memories with me. I’m so blessed by each of you. Happy New Year!

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

