An Audio Book I Recommend – Life of Pi by Yann Martel

Yesterday I shared my list of 50 interesting books, and on that list I included this look, Life of Pi, by Yann Martel. A few months ago I checked out the audio book at the Library and was surprised by the MP3 device I was given. The book came preloaded on the device, which was made by Playaway, and all I needed was a pair of earbuds to enjoy the recording. I was delighted to see that the library even included an extra AAA battery, which I needed after listening to the first half of the book.

For those of you who have not read the novel or listened to the unabridged audio book, I highly recommend you checkout Life of Pi. This book is by far one of the most unusual stories I’ve ever read and I absolutely loved it! As you may already know, I love great storytelling. Heck, I’d like to be a great storyteller. Because of my passion, I can’t help but admire the work of the masters who do storytelling well. Yann Martel is one of those masters.

Below is the back cover blurb about the book.

Pi Patel, a God-loving boy and the son of a zookeeper, has a fervent love of stories and practices not only his native Hinduism, but also Christianity and Islam. When Pi is sixteen, his family and their zoo animals emigrate from India to North America aboard a Japanese cargo ship. Alas, the ship sinks-and Pi finds himself in a lifeboat, his only companions a hyena, an orangutan, a wounded zebra, and a 450-pound Bengal tiger. Soon the tiger has dispatched all but Pi. Can Pi and the tiger find their way to land? Can Pi’s fear, knowledge, and cunning keep him alive until they do?

I was curious to know more about Yann and I discovered he was born in Spain in 1963 of Canadian parents. He grew up in Costa Rica, France, Mexico, and Canada. After Yann studied philosophy in college, he worked odd jobs as a dishwasher, tree planter, and a security guard. At age 27 he began to write.

Here is a brief interview with Yann Martel.

 

If you haven’t yet discovered this book, I hope you’ll check it out and tell me what you think of the story and Yann’s writing.

 

 

 

Related Posts:

From My Audio Library – Three Cups of Tea

Books on the Go

Barnes and Noble Nook vs. the Amazon Kindle

 

4 Responses

  1. Sharon, I read this book long ago and remember loving it but do NOT remember “THE WHAT.”

    Isn’t that sad?
    Patti

  2. LOL! Patti, don’t feel bad. I’m the same way. . 🙂

  3. Hi – very great site you have created. I enjoyed reading this posting. I did want to write a remark to tell you that the design of this site is very aesthetically delightful. I used to be a graphic designer, now I am a copy editor for a marketing firm. I have always enjoyed playing with computers and am trying to learn computer code in my free time (which there is never enough of lol).

  4. Kristian, thank you so much for stopping by and leaving such a kind comment about my blog. You made my day!

Leave a Reply

