Author Spotlight on Ashea Goldson

Ashea S. Goldson, formerly Ashea Sheremaine Johnson, was born and raised an only child in Brooklyn, New York. After marrying, Ashea put her writing career on hold to raise a family and worked as an educator in NewYork City, teaching in both the public and private sector for many years. With the constant encouragement of her mother,Evangelist Janet Sloan, who is now a chaplain in New York City, Ashea decided to dedicate her life completely to the Lord in 1994. It was at this time that she began to have a new vision for her life.

In 1997 she and her husband and two daughters moved to the Metro Atlanta area of Georgia to pursue, what Ashea now describes as a calling, although she wasn’t sure at the time exactly what that calling was. Beginning to rediscover her passion for writing, she wrote dramatic poetry and plays for many of the school’s productions. Her first Christian fiction novel was published by Urban Christian and was released in August of 2008.

Ashea, I love the cover of your novel, The Lovechild. What’s the book about?

Thanks, Sharon.

The Lovechild provides a riveting ride through the life of Makaeli Lovechild Hunt, a successful fashion designer who struggles with both her biracial identity and her spirituality. Born into a dysfunctional family and enduring many hardships, she eventually becomes estranged from them. She escapes to Italy where she dives into her career and masks her resentment for her family, for God, and for herself. Finally a family emergency forces her to face her tumultuous past. In seven life-altering days, she discovers what forgiveness really means. Amidst crises painful enough to make her turn her back on God forever, she learns what it means to be God’s lovechild.
It’s ultimately a story of redemption, where God’s unconditional love is tested and is proven.

Where did the story idea come from?

The Lovechild grew in my spirit from the notion that nothing can separate us from the love of God, no matter what it looks or feels like. I was inspired to write a story of an emotionally wounded person and their journey to deliverance and redemption. Although the character’s experience doesn’t parallel mine, I too have been delivered and redeemed.

Did you always know that you wanted to be a writer? I believe I always knew it deep inside because I always loved to write, even when I was very young, but it didn’t become official until middle school. That’s when others began taking my writing seriously and I started paying attention, knowing I was onto something. That’s when I started entertaining the idea of writing as a career. I began to write on purpose for school publications and independent projects I liked to share with friends.

How has your writing journey changed your Christian walk?

My writing journey has changed my Christian walk in that I now know and understand my God-given purpose. Everyday I take my calling into account and I am grateful for the gift. For me, it helps to keep things in my life in perspective and I don’t take it for granted because I didn’t always understand that it was my calling.

When you create a character in one of your novels, do you tend to have a real person in mind that the fictional character is based on?

No. Although some characteristics may seem familiar, my characters are purely fictional.

When you’re not writing, Ashea, what types of books do you like to read?

Mostly Christian fiction. However, I do read some women’s fiction and literary fiction also. I love the classics, with Romeo and Juliet being one of my favorites. I also love poetry.

When you need to unwind, what do you like to do for fun?

Besides writing, I love to spend time with my family, laughing, talking, and eating while maybe watching a good movie, preferably a romantic comedy. Playing with my ten-month-old granddaughter is definitely high on the priority list. I also enjoy reading a good book or listening to gospel and/or jazz music.

 

 

 

Related Posts:

A Visit with Author Kimberly Cash Tate

Award-winning Author Vanessa Miller Stops By

Conversation and Book Talk With Author Christa Parrish

 

6 Responses

  1. Sharon, thank you for introducing me to Ashea and her character Makaeli Lovechild Hunt! Talk about a symbolic character name!!!

    Blessings,
    Patti

  2. Patti, thanks for stopping by to check out Ashea’s new novel. Have a great weekend!

  3. I love the cover too! Beautiful work.

  4. Katie, I thought the same thing when I saw the cover–it’s so beautiful.

  5. Thank you so much, everyone ,for your comments. And thank you Sharon for having me.

  6. Ashea, it was a pleasure having you. Thank you for being a guest on my blog.

Leave a Reply

