Come Visit and Get to Know Author Tricia Goyer

It’s my pleasure to have Tricia Goyer as my guest today. I’ve followed her on Twitter and Facebook and have been both amazed and impressed with how much she gives of herself to her readers, family, and friends. Why it has taken me this long to invite her to my corner of the blog universe for a visit I don’t know. All I know is that I’m looking just as forward to getting to know her as I hope you all are too. First let me tell you a little bit about her.

Tricia Goyer is the author of twenty books including From Dust and Ashes, My Life UnScripted, and the children’s book, 10 Minutes to Showtime. She won Historical Novel of the Year in 2005 and 2006 from ACFW, and was honored with the Writer of the Year award from Mt. Hermon Writer’s Conference in 2003. Tricia’s book Life Interrupted was a finalist for the Gold Medallion in 2005. In addition to her novels, Tricia writes non-fiction books and magazine articles for publications like Today’s Christian Woman and Focus on the Family. Tricia is a regular speaker at conventions and conferences, and has been a workshop presenter at the MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) International Conventions. She and her family make their home in the mountains of Montana.

Tricia, thank you for visiting with us today. When I checked your website to see what books you have coming out next year, I was amazed to find two coming out the first part of 2010. Can you begin by telling us about your upcoming book releases?

Sure, All Things Hidden is one of the books in Guideposts Home to Heather Creek Series. It’s my fourth book about the Stevenson’s family. In this one, Charlotte gets involved with trying to solve a 130-year-old mystery as she tries to clear her great-great-grandfather’s name. It was great to take these characters on this unveiling of their own family history.

Also, Songbird Under a German Moon is a WWII historical suspense. The main character, Betty, is a USO singer who finds herself in Bayreuth Germany at the end of WWII. There’s a missing singer and a handsome combat photographer who comes to Betty’s aid. It’s a bit retro and very fun.

I see that you write historical fiction, contemporary fiction, and nonfiction. Do you have a favorite genre or one that you tend to lean toward more so than the others?

I tend to lean toward historical novels involving WWII. I love writing about other things … but that’s the era that keeps pulling me back.

When you think about your favorite books when you were a little girl, are you able to recall the first book that you checked out at the library or received as a gift?

I remember checking out Harold and the Purple Crayon when I was in first grade. After that I fell in love with the Little House on the Prairie books and the Encyclopedia Brown books too!

Let’s talk research. Can you tell us about your approach to building the background knowledge needed to create believable characters and settings?

I start by figuring out the true details of the time period. Often there are exciting/frightening/interesting events that I can weave into a story. I read memoirs or talk to people who were there. This adds emotion to my characters. Many people tell me my characters and settings are “believable.” I think this is because I weave the fiction amongst the truth I’ve dug up.

When did you first know that you wanted to be a writer?

When I was 22-years-old and pregnant with my third child. My friend was working on a novel and when I heard what she was doing I knew I wanted to write books too. We saved up our money and attend the Mt. Hermon Christian Writer’s conference. What a joy! Being there, learning from authors and talking to authors cemented my desire.

As we come to the end of our cyber chat, can you switch gears and tell us one or two of your quirky writer habits—assuming that you have any, of course. 🙂

 Um, I always have to have something to drink as I write. I sip as I go alone. Coffee or Zipfizz are my drinks of choice.

Also, when I’m stuck and overwhelmed I usually take a bath or snuggle under my comforter. It’s there I talk to God and pray … and when I seek Him He always gives me an answer.

Thanks for having me!

 

 

 

Related Posts:

Author C.J. Darlington Stop By to Visit

A Visit with Romance Author Cecelia Dowdy

A Peek at Author K. M. Weiland’s Novel, Behold the Dawn

 

10 Responses

  1. I love Tricia Goyers’ WWII series. I’d put them up there with Boedi Thoene. I also love the work she does with teenage mothers. And she know Pam Stenzel—yay!

  2. A wonderful author–and one reaches out to her audience beyond the pages of her books!

    Cool!
    Patti
    http://www.pattilacy.com/blog

  3. I always enjoy your interviews, Sharon. I have an interest in WWII, so I will have to look for Tricia’s novels. My dad was a WWII immigrant from Estonia. So many stories to tell from his background. Maybe one day I’ll work up the courage to tell them.

  4. Linda, the work that Tricia does with teenage mothers is amazing! I’ve also been inspired and impressed with how much she helps writers to learn the craft of writing. I was so thrilled when Tricia accepted my invitation to be a guest on my blog. What an honor!

  5. Patti, she sure does. It’s truly a gift!

  6. Kathleen, thank you so much. One of these days I hope you’ll share your dad’s stories with all of us.

  7. Enjoyed the interview!

  8. I love Tricia’s books! Now I’ll have to try Zipfizz and see if it works for me 😉

  9. Thanks, Mary.

  10. Georgiana, I’ve never tried Zipfizz either. Sounds good though…I think I might try it too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

