Disaster Relief for Haiti

As I see pictures of the devastation in Haiti, I’ve been overcome with sadness over this horrible disaster. Just today, I saw a picture on MSNBC of a woman trapped by earthquake rubble, but smiling as workers found her and worked to set her free. Can you imagine being trapped like that for days? Like many of you, I wondered what I could do to help, in addition to praying. Needless to say, the American Red Cross is an excellent organization to turn to, but I also wanted to make you aware of another organization you may want to consider—World Vision.

World Vision is a Christian humanitarian charity organization dedicated to working with children, families, and their communities worldwide to reach their full potential by tackling the causes of poverty and injustice. They serve close to 100 million people in nearly 100 countries around the world. World Vision serves all people, regardless of religion, race, ethnicity, or gender. Motivated by faith in Jesus Christ, they serve alongside the poor and oppressed as a demonstration of God’s unconditional love for all people.

 

Please keep Haiti in your prayers and consider donating to World Vision or the American Red Cross.

 

 

 

Related Posts:

Reach Out to Our U.S. Soldiers

“Freedom is Never Free”

 

6 Responses

  1. I am very proud to say that my pastors Victor Torres of New Life Outreach International and Fernando Cabrerra of New Life Outreach Inter nationall (Bronx,NY) went to Hait via the Dominican Republic. They went as government officials as Cabrerra was just made part of the NYC Council and Jet Blue gave them an 800 lb allowance, which consisted of over 600 lbs of medicine & vitamins. The rest consisted of meal replacement type bars and all the donated funds to purchase more once they get there.

    This is just the first visit. Please keep them in prayer as they usher in the Lord’s healing, blessing and prayers upon the people of Haiti. They go not only to do whatever they can to assist in their physical needs, but to save souls as well. We will likely be sending medical teams in the future.

    Donations can be made to assist our efforts at http://www.newlife1.org.

  2. Susan, your pastor has such a heart for serving and reaching out to people in need. I love it that Pastor Torres and Pastor Fernando are men of God and people of action–doers of the word. I will be sure to keep them in my prayers.

  3. yes, I agree, World Vision is a wonderful organization.
    One of the Christian charities that has the least overhead is Catholic Relief Sevices. I believe that 98% of all funds go directly to the targeted recipient. I’m not Catholic, but I was impressed by this.
    Did you hear that renowned atheist Richard Dawkins is challenging other atheists to give to his new organization, because he is disturbed that so much of Haiti’s help is coming through the church? LOL I’d say we’re doing a good job as the body of Christ.
    : )

  4. Kathleen, I haven’t heard of Catholic Relief Services, but it is impressive that 98% of all funds they collect for charities go directly to the recipient. I’ve been asking the Lord to work things out such that no money is misappropriated or wasted in anyway. Haiti needs every cent of the money that is being raised on their behalf.

  5. Sharon, we contributed through Samaritan’s Purse, mainly because other Christian writers suggested it and I think Billy Graham organizes things in a godly way plus a former associate’s husband works there.

    I polled people on Facebook and also heard that Red Cross and Salvation Army are reliable.

    In the past, I have heard the same about Catholic Relief Services.

    Patti

  6. Patti, I’ve done the Christmas boxes (shoe boxes) for Samaritan’s Purse and their organizational abilities and their far-reaching efforts are a blessing to thousands of people, so I can only imagine how much they’ll be able to bless Haiti as well.

Leave a Reply

