You’re Never Too Old to Enjoy Life

Years ago my mother worked as an activities director in a nursing home in Texas, and yesterday I got to thinking about one of her residents who recently passed away. Before I share this story there’s one thing you should know about my mother. She’s one of God’s special people who He’s given extra grace and a tender heart for caring for the elderly. Honestly, I’ve never seen anything like it. Because she was so wonderful to all her residents, she bonded with them, and their families, in profound ways that still—even to this day—have lingering affects. When mom told me about Ms. Taylor passing away, I recalled a story that I thought was so precious.

One day my mom was talking to Ms. Taylor when a new nursing home aide walked by and stopped at a room across the hall. Ms. Taylor, with her eyes watching the young man’s every move, nudged my mom and said, “Who’s that?”

Mom looked over at the young man, “Oh, he’s the new aide.” 

Ms. Taylor ran a wrinkly hand through her thin-gray hair and smiled seductively at the young man as her bony fingers waved in the air. “Hey you…Blondie.” Her eyebrows lifted and she batted sparse eyelashes. “I’d like you to change my diaper.” She smiled and winked.

The young man’s face glowed pink and he averted his eyes to his feet suddenly finding great interest in his gym shoes. Is that not the cutest thing or what?

 

 

 

Related Posts:

What Was I Thinking?

Ready For A New Fashion

The Difference between Men and Women

 

4 Responses

  1. Too funny! Thanks for sharing that story.

  2. Lori, I’m glad you got a kick out of the story. 🙂

  3. Sharon,
    Your mom and me shared so many of her stories over coffee and a bagel lots of Saturday mornings. Her love for her friends in the nursing home was incredible.

  4. So true, Mary. It’s amazing how much they became a part of her life and she became a part of theirs.

Leave a Reply

