The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

***Contest following review****

My review of this book is a credit to the power of word of mouth. My friend—and fellow kindred spirit—Patti Lacy recommended this book along with several others. Based on the strength of her recommendation I rushed out and bought the novel, and I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed it. When I purchased the book I had no idea it was written as a series of letters. Needless to say, when I sat down to read the book I was initially caught off guard. Once I started reading, I fell in love with the language, tone, and storytelling and I couldn’t put the book down. The authors are a mother-daughter team, Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows, and they did a wonderful job with this collaborative masterpiece.

First, let me share with you the back cover blurb.

January 1946: Writer Juliet Ashton receives a letter from a stranger, a founding member of the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. And so begins a remarkable tale of the island of Guernsey during the German Occupation, and of a society as extraordinary as its name.

What captured my heart was the use of language and vivid imagery from that era. In the midst of reading about the hardships the characters faced, as they tried to survive the occupation, I found myself laughing at their quirky habits and strange antics. At times I wished I could meet them—that’s how real the characters were. If you haven’t already read this book I strongly recommend it. In fact, this contest might be the perfect opportunity for you to secure a very gently used copy of the book for your own personal library.

To enter the contest, leave a comment and recommend one or two books on your “must read list.” The contest winner will be announced on March 4, 2010. Chances of winning depends on the number of entries. Contest available to U.S. residents only.

 

 

 

Related Posts:

Reading List – 50 Interesting Books

An Audio Book I Recommend – Life of Pi by Yann Martel

Guest Blogger Book Review by Lisa Bobbitt

 

 

10 Responses

  1. When you mention German occupation, I’m assuming WWII. If so, I would love to read this book.
    A book I want to read is ‘Johnstown Flood’. I think I read it way, way back (more than 25 years) and it was such an interesting book. Would love to update myself on it. That and ‘Never the Bride’ by Rene Gutteridge.
    Thanks for the contest, Sharon!

  2. Linda, you’re absolutely correct in assuming WWII. Thanks for stopping by and entering the contest.

  3. I’ve heard so much about this book and have yet to read it. I would love to be entered. Two books off my MUST read list are: A Stray Drop of Blood by Roseanna M. White and Listen by Rene Gutteridge. Both extremely powerful books!

  4. Michelle, thank you for sharing two books from your must-read list. I haven’t read anything by Rene Gutteridge, but thanks to you and Linda I’ve now added her to my “author to discover list.” 🙂

  5. I’ve heard so much about this book. I’d love to win it. My all-time favorite author is Maeve Binchy. All her books are wonderful. She’s an Irish author and most of her books are set in Ireland.

  6. Megan, thank you for sharing a little about your favorite author and also thank you for stopping by to enter the contest. Blessings…

  7. Any book with superb language attracts me. I love Jodi Picoult and recommend any of her books. Her turn of phrase/figurative language is phenomenal. As I thought of language, I thought of Barbara Kingsolver–an Annie Dillard for fiction. And speaking of Annie Dillard–anything by her is a must read. EAch time I read Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, I discover something new.

  8. Carol, I already have Barbara Kingslover on my list of authors to discover, but now I’m going to add Annie Dillard, thanks to you fine recommendation. 🙂

  9. Hi Sharon –

    I’d love to read this book. It’s not my usual fare, but sounds fascinating.

    Both Mary DeMuth (Watching The Tree Limbs) and Patty Hickman (Painted Dresses) have an amazing way with words and create unforgettable characters.

    susanjreinhardt (at) gmail (dot) com

    Blessings,
    Susan 🙂

  10. Hi Susan,
    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society is a fascinating book–so poignant and humorous. Thanks for entering the contest. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

