Grandparents Are Special

I miss my grandfather. He died over twenty years ago, but I think about him often. He especially came to mind a few weeks ago when my husband and I were having breakfast at a restaurant near our home. We were seated across the aisle from a man who was sitting at a table with a little girl. At first, I thought the man was the little girl’s father, but when she called him, “Pa-pa,” I figured out that he was in fact her grandfather. The thing that struck me about watching them was how sweet and gentle he was with this little girl, who was obviously his little princess. As she yammered on in her little-girl voice he listened as if she were sharing the secrets of the universe. I remember thinking about how good my father is with my niece and nephew. He too sits and listens to them and likes it when they speak for themselves and fill him in on the latest and greatest in their lives.

A writer friend of mine, Mary Larmoyeux, writes a blog for grandparents and she always has such creative ideas for children’s activities and insightful suggestions that help grandparents to spend fun and productive time with their grandchildren. I was reminded of Mary’s blog as I sat glancing over at the grandfather who was out on the town with his little princess.

I heard her say, “Pa-pa, I need to go pee-pee.”

Within a few seconds he whisked her from the booth and took her to the bathroom, making sure to stand guard outside the door like a sentinel. When they returned to the table I heard her say, “Pa-pa, did you take my bacon?”

The older man shook his head. “No,” he said in his husky voice.

A few minutes went by and she asked him again. “Pa-pa did you take it? Tell the truth.”

I smiled and looked at my husband. This little girl was so adorable! Already she was her own little person with her own little personality, and she wanted that bacon.

We heard the grandfather say again, “No.” And she stared him down, willing him with her pretty eyes to come clean.

“Pa-pa, tell the truth. I’m not going to do anything to you. Tell the truth.”

It was all I could do not to fall out laughing. She repeated, “I’m not going to do anything to you,” and continued to wait out her grandfather.

When they stood to leave I noticed the grandfather was at least a good six feet tall, and no lie, the little girl barely came up to his thigh. Is that not the cutest thing or what? Do you have grandchildren? What type of special things do you like to do with them?

Related Posts:

Kids Say the Darnedest Things

A Singing Voice Only God Could Love – Part One

A Singing Voice Only God Could Love – Part Two

10 Responses

  1. Thank you, Sharon. 🙂

  2. Sigh. My grandparents are LONG gone. I loved my paternal grandmother’s heart for the Lord and her jokes! She could always make me laugh, even when I was in a snit.

    My maternal grandmother loved to cook for us and let us “help” her in her rose garden.

    Thanks for a walk down memory lane.
    Patti

  3. Great story about the little girl and her grandfather, Sharon. Sounds like you had a very special grandfather!

    Thanks so much for mentioning my grandparent blog.

  4. My grandfather died last September. He was a wonderful man, generous to a fault. But I didn’t realize until he’d passed how little I knew him.

  5. Katie, it’s funny how that happens. My grandmother on my father’s side passed away last year and I didn’t really know her very well either.

  6. Mary, you’re so welcome, and I’m glad you enjoyed the story. 🙂

  7. Patti, your grandparents sound like they were wonderful people. It’s nice to stroll down memory lane every now and then and just remember those special moments.

  8. I desperately miss my grandma. She’s been gone 11 years this month, and I wish I had the time back. I do love to watch the interaction between my parents and my kids now, and those times are truly precious.

  9. Georgiana, I don’t know about you, but I can’t wait to get to heaven and see my grandparents again. Oh how I miss them.

Leave a Reply

