Author T. S. Jones Joins Us Today

A Georgia native, T.S. Jones resides in Atlanta, Georgia where she works as an educator. Her passion for writing began to blossom beginning at the age of ten, as she developed a fondness for journaling. She enjoys delivering encouraging messages of hope while at the same time raising awareness about topics ranging from relationships to tackling issues within society. As an inspirational speaker, T.S. Jones also serves as a voice for the empowerment of women, children, and all individuals in need of encouragement. Everything But The Ring is her debut novel, and was released in January of 2009. Please visit T.S. Jones at http://www.tsjonesinspires.com/.

I love the title of your book, Everything But the Ring. Where did the idea for the title come from?

Thanks Sharon! The title Everything But The Ring was created based upon the three main characters of the story who seem to have achieved success in every area of their lives with the exception of fulfilling their desires for marriage. With the rising number of singles within society I felt that Everything But The Ring would be a title that many readers would find relatable.

What’s the book about?

Everything But The Ring is the story of three friends; Sheila, Cynthia, and Patrice who have grown tired of the Atlanta dating scene and have placed becoming a Mrs. at the top of their list of priorities as they enter their early thirties. Though each friend desires marriage they have very unique approaches. Sheila ends a fourteen-year relationship with her high school sweetheart after being swept away by an NBA superstar, Cynthia has a no romance without finance philosophy, while Patrice is wholeheartedly seeking God for her mate and thinks that her prayers have been answered in the form of her latest love interest who happens to be a pastor. Through their experiences, each of the ladies discovers that regardless of their relationship status, what they are truly yearning for is wholeness as individuals.

Thinking back to when you first had the idea for the book, how did you go about making the concept into a reality?

The idea for writing Everything But The Ring was inspired by personal relationship experiences as well as those shared by friends and acquaintances. I began to reflect on the many lessons that I’ve learned over the years and I chose to incorporate those lessons into a fictional story. My hope is to encourage readers to look within and resolve internal struggles that may pose as a barrier to having healthy relationships.

What are your three most favorite books?

Wow! That’s a fun question! I have so many favorites; it’s hard to narrow them down to three! My absolute favorite book to date is The Coldest Winter Ever by Sister Souljah. Though I read it for the first time in college the message left a lasting impression. Second is The Million Dollar Deception by RM Johnson. His novels are truly page turners; every chapter leaves you thirsty for more. Last but not least is The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren. This book really helps readers to identify purpose and clarity through its inspirational messages.

As someone with a heart for inspiring other people, where does your inspiration come from?

The source of my inspiration is the result of spending years praying and seeking my life’s purpose. During my time spent in spiritual reflection God continuously shows me how he wants to use my personal experiences whether positive or negative to encourage others through their circumstances. I feel so honored to have the opportunity to inspire others through writing, speaking and teaching.

Related Posts:

Author Patti Lacy Joins Us Today

A Visit with Romance Author Cecelia Dowdy

Meet Debut Author Rhonda McKnight

7 Responses

  1. I’m looking forward to reading this book. The premise is great. All the best to you T.S. and thanks for highlighting this awesome young lady, Sharon.

  2. Outside of church, I wouldn’t even know where to find a husband today. This sounds like one good book. Added to my TBR list!
    Thanks Sharon for sharing another great book with us!

  3. WOW! Have you EVER heard such a catchy title!!!
    Definitely a great TBR book.

    I can see taking this on an upcoming trip…

  4. Rhonda, I have to agree with you about the premise for Tabitha’s book. It’s awesome! Wish I would have thought of it myself. LOL!

  5. Linda, I know exactly what you mean. I’m glad my single days are long gone.

    Patti, I thought the title was cathy too! Great story idea!

  6. I absolutely loved this book…and I’m married! LOL! I’ve been telling all of my single girlfriends about it. I love the way T.S. explores so many issues of not just singleness, but the importance of being whole as a woman before joining with another man. Thanks for the inspiration!

  7. Tangie, thanks for stopping by. I’m behind in my reading, but Tabitha’s book is on my list.

Leave a Reply

