Casting Call for Leading Ladies

As a writer, one thing that really helps me is having a picture of what I visualize my female lead character to look like. Having a face from a magazine, catalog, or the internet helps me to see my character more clearly. So far I have one manuscript completed, and my main character in this novel is a female drummer. I’ve written her character to be driven and determined without being overbearing. She’s funny at times in an off-wit kind of way and she’s attractive without being self-obsessed. As I wrote the novel I pictured the actress Paula Patton playing the lead role if the book were ever adapted into movie. If you saw the movie Deja’vu you’ll remember she played opposite Denzel Washington in the fast-paced thriller. Also, she did a good job in the movie Idlewild starring Andre “Andre 3000” Benjamin and Antwan A. Patton “Big Boi”.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Soooo all if this brings me to my question for you. If you were the casting director for a movie made about either one of your books or your own life, who would you choose as your leading lady?

 

 

   

Related Posts:

Go Ahead and Look Already

Confessions of a Writers Conference Attendee

Meet the Governor

 

8 Responses

  1. this is a great topic! I’ve been searching for an actress and picture for my heroine. I think I may finally have come up with one. I happened upon an older movie, Tristan and Isolde, and the gal from that–Sophia Myles–was as close as I’ve ever come. Ruphus Sewell, BTW, is close to my leading man, and was also in the movie. What a co-inky-dink! 🙂

  2. Sandra Bullock. I just like her aggressive woman persona and think I would need that portrayed.

    Yikes.

    Have a great weekend!!!
    Patti

  3. Hi Sharon –

    I can really see your main character looking like this actress. Great choice!

    My characters are in my head. I don’t use pictures. While writing my current heroine, an acquaintance came to my mind. The character’s sense of style reminded me of her.

    Blessings,
    Susan 🙂

  4. The character I’m writing now has no template, but a former heroine was modeled after Kate Hudson. Of course, I seem to get stuff on NFL players as heros:)

  5. Kathleen, I remember that movie Tristan and Isolde. Isn’t it great when you finally find the right actress to fill out the imagine of your character that you have in your mind?

  6. Patti, Sandra Bulluck is one of my favorite actresses. You chose well, my dear! 🙂

  7. Susan, my main character’s style reminds of me of an actual person I know as well. Even my hubby at times has said, “Sydney is just like her.” LOL!

  8. Oooh NFL players…I hadn’t thought about them as possible heros. Now the ol wheels are turning. LOL! 😉

Leave a Reply

