Surviving Unemployment – Devotions by Author Marietta Taylor

Today’s post is written by Marietta Taylor, author of the book Surviving Unemployment Devotions to Go—Positive Advice for a Negative Situation.

How the book came to be:

After moving to North Carolina from Chicago my husband’s job transfer fell through. We had no support system in Raleigh, so we were “alone” in this situation. For the next 2 1/2 years he was either unemployed or underemployed. I had no intention of ever writing about our experience but in a Friday night session at my first-ever writers conference, the idea was birthed. I ran from the idea for a while because frankly I wasn’t sure I wanted to share all the hard things that happened to us. Also, after waiting 35 years to finally pursue my dream of being a writer, I was scared! In His infinite wisdom, God would not leave me alone about it. Many different circumstances arose that kept pushing me in the direction of getting the story recorded. Finally I gave in and began writing our story.
The book was originally started in a different format and eventually found its home as a devotional. Each of the 31 devotions tells a story from our life during that time and is followed by a brief “apply it to your own life” page. I really enjoyed being able to show people how faith and practicality can work together to pull you through tough times. Despite the title, the book’s content can be useful to those who are underemployed or just trying to get a better hold on their finances. That was a nice surprise I found after I had completed the book. Even though the experiences occurred and the lessons were learned during a period of unemployment, the issues addressed are more global in nature. In the end, if telling my family’s story encourages someone and helps them hang on during a tough time, then the book has done its job!

Back Cover Copy

Surviving Unemployment Devotions to Go—Positive Advice for a Negative Situation is a 31-day devotional that provides encouragement and practical advice to women who are facing the effects of either their own or their spouses’ unemployment.

This is not a Pollyanna devotional. It tackles the specifics of day-to-day living through tough issues, such as handling anger, finding new ways to generate cash flow, and preparing for an extended job search.

 

 

 

Related Posts:

Pearl Girls—A Devotional for Women of All Ages

Tips for Living Victoriously in 2010

Positive Books and Stories for Young People

 

8 Responses

  1. Marietta, what a timely project! May the Lord bless your devotional and may it help the ones who so desperately need encouragement. It reminds me of Joseph’s son’s name–Ephraim, or “fruitful in the land of my suffering.” It is amazing when God takes our tears and uses them as a spring to water others. Be blessed!

  2. Sharon, thanks for letting me guest post 🙂

    Kathleen, thank you for your kind words. You hit the nail right on the head. I never imagined what good would come out of such a difficult time. But God knew all along. I pray others will benefit from our tough experience. Blessings to you!

  3. What a great title!!! This last “recession” or whatever you want to call it, has made me aware that all of us are one pink slip away from…major issues!

    Marietta, isn’t this THE BEST blog for encouragement??!!

    Sharon, keep up the good work!!

    Patti

  4. What a timely devotional! What a great example of how God can take a heartbreaking situation and use it for His glory.

  5. Mari, it was my pleasure. Your book will be a blessing to a lot of people. As Kathleen and Georgiana have said, it is amazing how God can use our heartbreaking situations for His glory.

  6. Patti, you are always such a blessing and encourager for me. Thank you so much, my sweet angel!

  7. Marietta,
    I’ve been unemployed now for over three months. The good part was that I didn’t have to go out in the snow this past winter. We’ve had more snow this year than any other winter I’ve seen.
    I get down at times but I firmly believe there is a great job out there for me. I’m bound and determined to find it.
    I hope that circumstances for your family have improved.

  8. Mary, I didn’t know you were unemployed. I’ve started an agressive job search myself. You’ve probably already done this, but have you posted your resume on Monster.com and Careerbuilder.com? Also, you might want to consider joining LinkedIn. Unlike Facebook, LinkedIn is all about professional networking. Once you sign up for an account you’ll be able to access the “jobs” section. I’ve already found and applied for a few positions that I’ve found on LinkedIn. Be sure to connect to me if you decide to open an account.

Leave a Reply

