Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus

Sometimes I’m amazed at the vast differences between men and women—and I really have to shake my head at the differences between me and my husband. Case and point…a few days ago we were on the freeway, headed across town, and my husband pointed to an oversized flatbed truck carrying a gargantuan earth moving machine. The tires on the machine were probably the size of a Mini Cooper! My husband pointed at the machine and said, “I bet you’ve never wanted to drive something like that have you?”

I turned and looked at the monster tractor thing and needed less than a nanosecond to consider my answer. “Uhhh…no. Why would I ever want to drive one of those?”

He smiled and I noticed that his whole face was lit-up with excitement at seeing the machine and picturing himself in the driver’s seat. “I’ve always wanted to drive one of those babies.” Gesturing at the machine he said, “That one doesn’t have a bucket on the front, though.” The funny thing about it was the way he said it. He spoke as if the machine of his dreams was sub par, but tolerable for him to drive—what with the equipment missing a bucket and all.

As I watched him, I smiled and pictured him joy riding this monster in the imaginary theater in my mind. “We are sooooo different.”

He laughed. “I knowwww!” A youthful grin played about his face. “If I could drive that thing, I’d be on it all day.” He shrugged. “See, women don’t get that do they?”

“I don’t know about all women, but I know I don’t. So what would you do with it? Just ride around on the thing?”

“Yeah, that’s the cool part.”

“Um…okay.”

Like I said, Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus.

By a show of hands, how many of you have ever wanted to drive a monster machine?

Related Posts:

The Difference between Men and Women

Have You Tried To Barter?

The Most Unusual Hair

12 Responses

  1. Sharon, I hesitate to admit this, but I would love to drive one of those huge earth-moving machines. Okay, before you die of shock, let me explain. Several years ago, we started building a campground for our denomination’s boys ministries. When we would have work days, I would attend and act as “water girl.” But the more I watched those men in those big machines, it seemed kinda cool to me. Then, one day, the men talked me into getting on one of the little earth-moving machines. It was really neat! I can’t explain it, but it was really, really neat. And now, I want to conquer the Big Ones one day. 🙂

  2. ha! This reminds me of an episode of Malcolm in the Middle, where the dad Hal rents a steamroller just to crush things. Very funny post! You should rent one of those thingies for one of his birthdays! LOL

  3. My husband has a Corvette. Loves the thing, even when it simply sits in the garage and takes up space. I’m with you, Sharon.

  4. No Sharon, I have no compulsion to get on one of those monsters. None!

  5. Not I! But my hub watches those shows like Ice Road Truckers and gets really into it. LOL, they really are from Mars. We are so different, but at least my weaknesses are his strengths and the other way around. A good complement to one another 😀

  6. Sarah, you are fearless, girl! I can just imagine you driving one of those monster trucks!

  7. Kathleen, what a great idea!!! He’d love it!!!

  8. Carol, Sharon, and Georgiana, sounds like we’re all in agreement to pass on driving the monster truck. LOL 🙂

  9. No desire at all. He won’t have to fight me for a ride. LOL

  10. Mari, I hear ya, girl! LOL

  11. NEVER, never, never.
    You are SOOO right about MFM, WFV.
    BUT…knowing that helps get along with those Martians!!!!

    I love your personal posts!!! Your cool personality just GLOWS!!!

    Blessings!

  12. Thank you, Patti! You always know how to make my day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

