Expect an Adventure with Author DiAnn Mills

DiAnn Mills believes her readers should “Expect an Adventure.” She is a fiction writer who combines an adventuresome spirit with unforgettable characters to create action-packed novels. Currently she has fifty books in print with over a million and a half in print. Five of her books have won placements through American Christian Fiction Writer’s Book of the Year Awards 2003 – 2008, and she is the recipient of the Inspirational Reader’s Choice award for 2005 and 2007. She was a Christy Awards finalist in 2008.

DiAnn is a founding board member for American Christian Fiction Writers, a member of Inspirational Writers Alive, Advanced Writers and Speakers Association, and a mentor for the Christian Writer’s Guild. She speaks to various groups and teaches writing workshops. DiAnn and her husband live in Houston, Texas.
www.diannmills.com

DiAnn I love your tagline “Expect an Adventure.” Where did the idea come from?

I want every reader to open my books and be filled with excitement and anticipation. Where will this journey take me? What am I going to learn along the way?

As a child, I was very imaginative. I dreamed and went places that only existed in books and in my mind. That creativity is still there.

You have a few books coming out this spring, A Woman Called Sage and Sworn to Protect. Can you tell us about each book?

A Woman Called Sage – Sage Morrow is a bounty hunter in the Colorado Rockies, searching for the killers of her husband and baby. Accompanied by her pet hawk and using the skills she learned from her mother’s people, the Ute Indians, Sage’s reputation quickly spreads. But the tables become turned when she realizes she’s become the hunted, and must learn to trust God again and the love of a man.

Sworn to Protect – Danika Morales is a Border Patrol Agent assigned to keep US borders safe between Texas and Mexico. When an agent is suspected of giving security information to those seeking to enter the US illegally, Danika fights to show she can be trusted. Danger increases when she is threatened, and no one can be trusted except a doctor who treats anyone without question.

I’ve just started reading Breach of Trust and I’m finding your novel hard to put down. Tell us some of your tricks for writing page-turning novels.

I’m so glad you’re enjoying Breach of Trust. Thank you!

I don’t think I have tricks, my method is to write a realistic story that is unpredictable. Always ask what is the worst possible thing that could happen? How could the stakes be raised? I value the teachings of Donald Maass, James Scott Bell, copy editors, and the study of many authors whom I admire and respect.

I read in the bio on your website that you are a founding member of the ACFW, of which I’m a member as well. How did the organization get started and what was your dream or vision for its purpose?

Originally we were a handful of writers who wanted to form an organization for Christian Romance Writers: an online group where published and unpublished writers could share ideas and encourage each other as we worked to achieve our goals.

We never dreamed ACRW would evolve to ACFW, and the size of the group! And the caliber of writers! And the fabulous conferences and contests and the extensive website!

God was with us in those early planning days, and look what He has done.

Thinking back to your very first novel, what was it like to see your story in print for the first time?

A huge thrill. I can still remember the excitement of seeing the book cover with my name on it. I still get excited when a novel is released, but the first time is the most memorable.

If you had to write a novel in a genre outside of the genre you write in now, what genre would you choose and why?

I’ve never been asked that before. Perhaps fantasy. I think I’d like the challenge of creating a world: the culture, the language, socioeconomic conditions, government, characteristics of the inhabitants, plants, animals, religion etc.

 

 

 

Related Posts:

Chatting About Writing With Author Sibella Giorello

A Cyber Chat with Debut Author Christa Allan

Author Kit Wilkinson Visits Us Today

 

4 Responses

  1. Hi Sharon! Hi DiAnn!!! Great interview and so excited about your Rita nomination, especially as I got to read BREACH OF TRUST in ARC form!! YAY!!!! Congratulations! Hope to see you both at Blue Ridge!

    Kit

  2. Kit, thanks so much for stopping by to say hello to DiAnn and me. I won’t be able to make it to Blue Ridge this year, but I’m keeping my fingers crossed for the ACFW conference in Indy. 🙂

  3. DiAnn does have a great tagline!

    Thanks, Sharon, for another great interview!!
    Patti

  4. Thanks, Patti. 🙂

Leave a Reply

