Spotlight on Author Lynette Eason

Lynette writes for Harlequin’s Love Inspired Steeple Hill Suspense Line and for Revell. When she’s not writing, she loves talking about writing and teaching/mentoring new and promising writers. Lynette also enjoys meeting new people. Please feel free to visit her on the web at lynetteeason.com or email her at lynetteeason@lynetteeason.com. She’s also on Twitter and Facebook.

How long have you been writing and when was your first book published?

I had been writing for a little over eight years when I got THE CALL that Steeple Hill wanted to publish my first book. That was in January 2007. The book, Lethal Deception, came out in 2008. Since then I’ve sold fourteen more books. It’s been an incredibly busy three years, but has been an amazing journey.

Tell us how you come up with characters.

I go through the alphabet and try to pick a name that starts with different letters. And I try to find ones that I haven’t used before. I also have the Writer’s Digest Name book. GREAT resource.

What is a typical writing day like for you?

There is no rhyme or reason to it. I have kids. Nuff said. Seriously, I work full time as a Case Manager so I write before I go to work, I write during lunch three out of five days a week and when my husband is home, I let him pick up the kids while I stay late in my office and write uninterrupted a couple of hours. Gives the kids some great dad time. Then after they’re in bed, I often get back into the story for a little while.

At what point did you stop worrying about what other people said about your writing (such as a critique group) and learn to trust yourself as a writer?

I don’t know that this has happened yet. I always want someone to read over my stuff after I’ve written the story. Especially if I’m writing on a topic I had to do a lot of research on. For example, I always have one of my cop buddies critique my police procedural stuff. So, it’s always good to have another reader and to listen to suggestions. Now, if you don’t think the suggestions are good, then definitely ignore them, but if more than one person suggests it, I would take a closer look. That’s why contests are good.

Tell us about your latest book. Too Close to Home releases April 1, 2010!

Wahoo! But the cool thing is, I started seeing it in bookstores by the middle of March. This has been a REALLY loooooong wait. I sold the Women of Justice Series back somewhere around March or April of 2008 so this has been a two year journey. I’m so excited (and stunned that two years have passed already!) and am eagerly waiting to see this book on the shelves and in the hands of readers. The back cover of Too Close to Home reads:

The FBI has a secret weapon. But now the secret’s out.

When missing teens begin turning up dead in a small Southern town, the FBI sends in computer forensics expert Samantha Cash to help crack the case. Her methods are invisible, and she never quits until the case is closed.

Homicide detective Connor Wolfe has his hands full. His relationship with his headstrong daughter is in a tailspin, and the string of unsolved murders has the town demanding answers. Connor is running out of ideas—and time.

Samantha joins Connor in a race against the clock to save the next victim. And the killer starts to get personal.

Too Close to Home ratchets up the suspense with each page even as love blossoms in the face of danger. Read this one with the lights on!

“My friend Lynette has a hit on her hands with this romantic suspense. I enjoyed every minute. The plot managed to surprise and captivate me, and the romance was priceless.”—Dee Henderson, bestselling author, the O’Malley series

“A fast-moving tale filled with nonstop action. No chance to catch your breath with this one!”—Irene Hannon, bestselling author, the Heroes of Quantico series

“Eason gives the reader an exciting ride with characters you will care about.”—Margaret Daley, award-winning Steeple Hill romantic suspense author

What comes first? Character or plot first?

Character definitely. While I might have an idea for the story itself, I can’t write the first word until I get to know my characters. So, I have this character chart that I got from somewhere—Randy Ingermanson, I think—and I fill it out even as the story is taking shape in my mind. I can usually write a short synopsis about the story while I’m doing the character sketch and then go back and add detail to the synopsis after I know my characters a bit. I have to have a synopsis to sell anything so this process really helps me shape it and make sure I have all my details together.

What do you hope readers take away from the book and chew on long after they’ve reached “the end?”

I hope that the characters stay with them. That they got the spiritual application in the story and most importantly took away that God loves them and wants a personal relationship with them.

 

 

 

Related Posts:

Expect an Adventure with Author DiAnn Mills

Author Patti Lacy Joins Us Today

Enter the World of Suspense Author Mike Delloso

 

5 Responses

  1. HI Lynette, Congrats on your latest!!! YAY!!!

    Kit

  2. LOVED Lynette’s comment about sporadic writing due to kids!

    Sigh. God didn’t call me to write till they were “all growed up!” I so admire those who write with little ones pulling their sleeves!!!1

    Blessings,
    Patti

  3. What an encouraging interview. Wow, eight years before your first sale, and then, fourteen sales in three years! That’s overwhelming. Gotta admire your stamina.

    nice interview. Good to see that police procedurals have a place in CBA, too.

  4. Hi all, thanks for stopping by.

    Kit! Glad to see you here. And thanks on the congrats. 🙂

    Patti – LOL. Well, mine are “half growed” I guess and it certainly has gotten a lot easier since I don’t have to change diapers and get up for feeding during the night! 🙂

    Kathleen – Oh my. Yes, eight years seemed like FOREVER! And PLEASE don’t think I was actually patient during those eight years! LOL. I gave up several times only to be drawn back to it. Keep the faith and keep writing!

    Sharon, thanks so much for having me on your blog.

    Thank you all!

    God Bless
    Lynette

  5. Lynette, it was my pleasure having you as a guest on my blog. Blessings to you as you continue to write and feed God’s sheep. 🙂

Leave a Reply

